Core

Thank the Lord I have no reason to go outside today as it’s raining cats and dogs out.  In fact, my only “workout” today is Day 57 of my 100 Day Challenge (click HERE).  Sweet, right?  This morning then I am indulging in a little Da Blues with the ‘Stamp Album‘  album by the Climax Blues Band.

mi0002313202

I found this album at a record fair a few years ago for $3.00 and I bought it because it had an Airplane on the cover.  I noticed later when I got home that it had “CFBU Brock Radio” written all over it in red ink, which made it blend in with the rest of the album.

I admit to feeling both a little guilty and a little thrilled at having just purchased an illicit contraband record.

Sorry CFBU, but it would seem that portions of your record collection have now hit the underground black market but in actuality, I have seen quite a few CFBU marked albums at Record Fairs.

While I was DJ-ing there nearly 10 years ago, 95% of their record collection was locked away inside another room separate from the DJ booth and therefore inaccessible.  I was always dying to get in there and check out what they had (specifically for my own ‘Tofu Plankton Meatloaf’* show) but I was always told that those records were “unavailable”.  I figured someone had just lost the key but, really, it beat the shit out of me why.  So I guess somebody who was as curious as I was eventually said ‘enough is enough‘, and picked the lock before making off with whatever they could carry.

This is all speculation, of course.

Anyway, the album is also marked as “Canadian Content”, although I’m not sure why seeing as how The Climax Blues Band (originally known as the Climax Chicago Blues Band) were a British blues rock band formed in Stafford, England, in 1968 by vocalist and harmonica player Colin Cooper, guitarist and vocalist Pete Haycock, guitarist Derek Holt, bassist and keyboardist Richard Jones, drummer George Newsome, and keyboardist Arthur Wood.  In 1972 the group shortened its name to the Climax Blues Band, under pressure from the American band Chicago.

The nit-picky bastards.

This album represents the band at it’s creative peak in 1975 showcasing a band that has tastefully matured.  With seven albums behind them before this LP, the Climax Blues Band finally enjoyed a brush with commercial success with minor hits ‘Using the Power‘ and ‘I am Constant‘.  Both are decent tracks, but really the album features much better material, namely ‘Mr. Goodtime‘, ‘Running Out of Time‘, and the instrumental ‘Cobra‘.

What you’ll hear on this relatively short but solid album are songs with deep grooves; judicious use of sax, clarinet and flute; Peter Haycock’s brilliant guitar playing (he’s one of the most criminally overlooked guitar players in rock history); and a band that truly seemed to enjoy itself cutting this one in the studio.

For my part, I really enjoyed it on the mat doing my planks, push-ups and crunches.  So in this case, CFBU’s loss is my gain.  I do feel marginally guilty I suppose, but seeing as how it would likely still be locked up and inaccessible at the studio, I guess I can console myself that at least it’s now being listened to and enjoyed as it should.

*Which was unceremoniously taken off the air after I referenced an album being “darker than the Harlem Globetrotters hiding inside a Cheerios box”.   The shame of which, goes without saying.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

