Tuesday In Corporate Hell

It’s one of those kinds of day where it’s hard to take anything serious.  My emails have been stupid, my phone calls have been stupid and, well, everything has just been stupid.  I figured then that I should round out the day with something equally stupid from my collection of Cornball albums, such as this ‘Night Rider!‘  album by Tim Weisberg.

img_1583

Everyone has a few albums in their collection that they’re not necessarily proud of and this happens to be one of mine.  In fact, the only redeeming feature about it is that the cover the depicts an old school cyclist in a Europa cycling cap and pedaling in rat traps and, yeah, when I saw it for a nickel a few months ago I thought to myself, “Huh.  How bad could it really be?”

As it turns out, pretty fucking bad.

I knew nothing previously about Tim Weisberg when I forked over the ¢5 other than he can ride a bike and is apparently too stupid to wear a helmet.

So a little Googling was definitely in order.

Tim Weisberg (born 1943 in Hollywood, California) is an American jazz/rock fusion flautist, composer, producer, and vocalist.  In high school, at his first music class, because his last name was at the end of the alphabet, he was last to pick an instrument. All that was left was the flute and the bassoon. He picked the flute because it was easier to carry, and because the flute section was all girls.

Okay, so credit where it’s due of course.

Sadly though, the album has nothing to do with a talking car, or a young David Hasselhoff.

Nope.

Despite being a total piece of shit, I am choosing to believe that it’s some sort of theme album, where even without any vocals, the imagery is painted by deft instrumental work of flute and synthesizers. The listener then is figuratively carried along hard peddling uphill highway biking, down country roads and across various intonations of melancholy, determination and thoughtful introspection.

Okay, not really.  It’s really crap.

Period.

It is worth noting however that the drummer on the album is named Rick Jaeger.

That (and cool album cover) aside, this is a total Shit List entry (even worse than that M bullshit) and it will likely being a long time before this album ever sees the light of day again.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

