Monday Afternoon in Corporate Hell

On my lunchtime, I took 15 minutes or so slide all my records over one shelf space.  If there’s anything else quite so satisfying as making more room in your existing record collection, I haven’t found it.  Anyway, while doing so I came across this long forgotten album, the ‘Barbershop Quartet Winners – 1959‘.

img_1581

It beats the living shit out of me where I got this from; probably a dusty box at a flea market somewhere or maybe along the side of the road on garbage day – who knows.  And judging by the smell emanating off this album that is equal parts dust, mold, mildew and kitty litter, the roadside might not be far from the truth.

I don’t actually think I’ve ever listened to it to be perfectly honest but today I’m thinking: “Hey, how about a little Barbershop Quartet this afternoon?”

I mean, really, why not?

Obviously the album cover has seen better days but the record inside is still good as new.  Well, as good as a record from nearly 60 years ago can be anyway.  From what does remain of the album cover I can determine that this was originally recorded at the Civic Opera House, in Chicago, Ill., at the Barbershop Quartet finals, on July 3rd, 1959.  It features performances by the ultimate competition winners The Four Pitchikers, as well as the Evans Quartet (2nd place finishers), the Town and Country Four (3rd place finishers), the Easternaires (4th place finishers) and The Short Cuts (5th place finishers).  Each group, quartet, whatever, sings two or three songs from what I am guessing was their set at the competition.

It’s certainly a different listen from what I am accustomed to but it’s actually quite fun.  However, having said that, after handling it, I now have to thoroughly wipe my hands down with Lysol to ensure I don’t come down with some sort of rare fossilized strain of Ebola or something.

By the way, whatever happened to Barbershop Quartet?  How is this not a think anymore?  Or is it?  If it isn’t, it should be.  Hey, anyone want to meet me at the corner of Thunder Bay and Ridge Roads tonight by the blazing garbage can to practice?

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

