Core

I have officially entered into the “seven days of fuckallness”, meaning I have no scheduled swim, bike or run workouts this week so that I can rest, reset, rejuvenate and, hopefully, transition smoothly into my next phase of Ironman training (click HERE).  All that’s in my current schedule this week is my daily 15 minutes of core and, maybe, one or two slow yoga classes.  That’s about it.  Oh, and salad.  Lots of salad.

Anyway, today’s on the mat album is a bit of a trip down memory lane for me, the ‘Smash Hits‘  album by Jimi Hendrix.

smashhits

I know, I know, really Terry?

A Greatest Hits album?

Seriously?

Well, yes.

But bare with me here.

As I eluded to earlier I have, shall we say, “history” with this album.  You see, growing up I was a bit of lame-o.  It’s true.  I listened to Rick Astley, Mac Davis and the Oakridge Boys.  Horrible I know.  Believe me, just typing this makes me want to run outside and drown myself in our birdbath; the shame of it all being too much to bare.

But then I heard ‘Purple Haze‘ during a secret screening of the 1988 Sam Elliot and Peter Weller movie ‘Shakedown‘ (secret, because my mother for whatever reason hated Sam Elliott) and I was all like, “Huh.  What on God’s green earth is this?”.  I loved the total raunchiness of it.  It was amazing.  What was this new sound and why did it make my nether bits tingle?

I eventually figured out in the movie credits that it was a Jimi Hendrix tune and not knowing any better, I went out and bought the CD from Sam the Record Man at the Pen Center, in St. Catharines, Ontario.  It was not only my first CD but also my first “non-lame-o” country pop bullshit album to boot.  I also had to keep this album secret from my mom as well so as to not give away my recent Sam Elliott indulgences.

I didn’t know any better back then to actually hunt out the actual Hendrix album(s) that this song(s) appeared on and just purchased this Greatest Hits collection instead.  I had originally thought about buying the ‘Shakedown‘ soundtrack but feared that that would have been a little too on the head in revealing my criminal cinematic discretion’s.  Even more importantly, this was the album that forever swayed me from the “crap FM rock” into more credible music fields of which I am such an aficionado now.  From this point forward, Mac Davis and the Oakridge Boys were all but forgotten and Rick Astley would only pop up to serve as a delightful and humorous meme to grace my Facebook feed, albeit many, many years later mind you.  Going forward, I was all gung-ho!  into rock and roll as well as all the multi-dimensional genres and layers that made it up.

I was peeling back the rock and roll onion, so to speak.

So when I saw this album in a discount bin somewhere for a buck, I decided it was worth having again just for that memory alone.  It’s not like I listen to it all the time or anything, but I thought a little trip down memory lane was appropriate for today’s 15 minutes worth of planking, lunging, crunching and push-uping (?).

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

