Core

Yesterday was the first day in over two months that I have missed a core day.  Of course, it is worth mentioning that I was up at 5:00am yesterday did cycle 5 hours for the Move for Strong Kids campaign yesterday, after getting to bed at midnight the night before so, yeah, the core just wasn’t going to happen and the streak ended at 53 days.

Believe me, I feel as guilty as shit.

However, it’s back on today prior to my other planned run and swim workouts.  My mellow inspiration then to begin the new streak of planks, push-ups, crunches and whatnot is the self-title album by America.

america_album

This eponymous album was released in 1971 and spawned the monster hit ‘A Horse with No Name‘.  In fact, the entire album did well spending 5 weeks at #1 on the Billboard album charts in the United States.

The album then is basically a folk-pop classic, a stellar collection of memorable songs that would prove influential on such acts as the Eagles and Dan Fogelberg.  Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young are the group’s obvious stylistic touchstone here, especially in the vocal harmonies used and the prominent use of active strummed acoustic guitar arrangements.

The bands intricate interplay of acoustic guitar textures is more ambitious than that of their influences, however.  Performance quality is usually good, though on occasion sloppily executed or out of tune (especially on the openings to ‘Donkey Jaw‘ and ‘I Never Found the Time‘).  Most of the songs boast highly unusual and inventive chord progressions that work well without drawing undue attention to themselves. Lyrics are sometimes trite (“I need you/Like the flower needs the rain”) or obscure (“He flies the sky/Like an eagle in the eye/Of a hurricane that’s abandoned”), but the music more than makes up for any verse problems.

It’s essentially a nice, mellow bouncy album to get the ball rolling this morning after the breakfast-coffee-poop routine.  And then, after today’s workouts are completed, I am taking seven whole days off.

Yup, seven-fucking-days to do little else than these daily core workouts and maybe a relaxing yoga class or two so that I can recharge, rejuvenate and get myself reset to begin the next phase of training heading into July’s Ironman (click HERE).

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

