Core

I slept through my swim workout this morning and seeing as how it’s currently raining cats and dogs outside, my planned afternoon run might not happen either.  That’s okay though as I’ve been experiencing the early signs of burn out anyway so perhaps having a lazy day isn’t such a bad thing.  I am, however, keeping with the core with Day 53 of the 100 Day Challenge with the ‘Music for the Sensational Sixities‘  album by Don Elliott and his Orchestra.

600x600

I nabbed this at last weekend’s Record Fair in St. Catharines for $3.00, gambling that it was something in the vein of Space Age Exotica seeing as how it was released in 1958, features Don himself riding a Vespa through space while playing a French horn and it does have songs entitled ‘Out of this World‘, ‘Stardreams‘, ‘Moon Love‘ and ‘Stella by Starlight‘ so, yeah, I figured there was a good chance that it was.

Those are pretty good clues, don’t you think?

Elliott himself, born in Somerville, New Jersey in 1926, was a popular jazz trumpeter, vibraphonist, vocalist, and mellophone (whatever the hell that is) player.  He was also a longtime associate of Quincy Jones, contributing vocal work in particular to many of Jones’ film scores but this album, obviously, predates that.

However, I couldn’t really find out much about this specific album online but from the get go of the record, I knew my impulses were absolutely correct and that this was 100% a total Space Age Exotica album.  It’s a little more “big band-y” and less jazzy than other SPE albums in my collection, but you can’t ignore the popular themes and inspiration of the time that still indelibly imbedded in the grooves.

In other words, it’s cheesy as fuck and I love it.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

