Tuesday Night Vinyl

I enjoyed a nice yoga class this evening and afterwards a hot bowl of Kelly’s cashew chicken.  Now, it’s a few chapters of the new book ‘The Dragon Behind the Glass‘  by Emily Voigt (yes, I’m reading about exotic fish – sue me) and another album from this past weekend’s Record Fair, ‘Boots‘  by Nancy Sinatra.

05-these-boots-are-made-for-walkin-mp3-image

All I really knew about Nancy Sinatra was this song and that oh, so sexy walking baseline that completes the chorus to the popular 60’s anthem ‘These Boots Are Made for Walking‘ which would go on to became a #1 blockbuster hit for ‘ol Nancy.

It’s only on every Vietnam movie soundtrack, like, ever.  Likewise, this was also the song that the Feds tortured David Koresh and the other Branch Davidians religious sect with at the Mount Caramel standoff in Waco, Texas back in 1993 before all hell broke loose.

I would have paid the $5.00 based on that little historical chestnut alone.

The album itself was released in 1966 and, really, isn’t as glamorous as it’s famous hit.  Basically, it’s a collection of covers (The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, and Bob Dylan) with a few Lee Hazelwood tracks thrown in for good measure.  But it’s definitely fun and listenable for a mellow Tuesday evening and a bellyful of cashew chicken.

On another note, I read somewhere that Nancy Sinatra was the first inductee into the Go-Go Boots Hall of Fame. Of course, that might have been just something somebody made up on the internet, but it sure seems plausible to me. The boots Nancy wears on the cover of her debut album are not the classic white go-go boots we usually associate with her, but ’tis enough; t’will serve.

Nancy sure is a looker.

Va-va-wroom!

Good work, Frankie.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

