Core

I spent some time on Family Day sorting out and evaluating an acquaintance’s record collection and after I had weeded out all the Crystal Gaye, Barbara Streisand, Poco and Neil Diamond bullshit I was left with some pretty cool treasures.  I’m listening to one of these treasures now during this afternoon’s Day 51 of the 100 Day Challenge, the ‘Honey‘  album by the Ohio Players.

ef139b1cb33227ff41ec79f53f399a0c

Now, truthfully, I had no previous idea who the Ohio Players were before this past Monday.  However, such a provocative album cover depicting a naked woman (actually Ester Cordet, October 1974 Playmate of the Month in Playboy magazine) dripping honey into her mouth kind of catches your attention.

So then, of course, you open up the gate-fold and discover this:

img_1562

DAY-UM!

That’s some sexy sheeee-ite, right there folks!

Just look how happy the members of the band are!

No wonder the old fart had this in his collection.

Although, racy and scandalous as it is, especially for the time, the album did win a Grammy Award for Best Album Cover Art…and rightly so I might add.

Simply the Tits.

So I did some digging on these Ohio Players and was intrigued to learn that they are were a very popular funk/soul band originally hailing from Dayton, Ohio (hence the name I guess) that were very a big success in the 1970’s.  In fact, they have even been inducted into the inaugural class of the Official R&B Music Hall of Fame.  This album is likely their most popular and famous album largely thanks to the hit single ‘Love Rollercoaster‘ (a song that was sampled to death by rappers in the ’80s and ’90s and covered by the Red Hot Chili Peppers in 1996), if not for the naked chick slathered in honey.  The album ultimately peaked at #2 on the Billboard 200 in 1975.

Besides the big hit, there are other sweet (pun intended) tracks on the album as well like ‘Fopp‘, and the playfully jazz-influenced hit ‘Sweet Sticky Thing‘.

While the Players’ outstanding contributions to funk would continue to have an enormous impact long after the band’s popularity faded. and I have to wonder why I haven’t heard more about this band before.  I mean, lead singer Sugarfoot’s moving performance on the remorseful ‘Alone‘ makes me wish that the Players’ ballads were discussed more often and I wasn’t just jumping on the bandwagon now.

Great surprise this afternoon, making for a really funky 20 minutes of planking, push-ups, squatting and crunching.

Oh, I also learned that there is a cool urban legend surrounded the song ‘Love Rollercoaster‘ that claims that the girl on the album cover was stabbed in the studio – when she threatened to sue in connection with supposed skin damages caused by the fake honey used – and that her screams are heard on the song. However, the scream is actually that of keyboardist Billy Beck.

So, yeah, I will definitely be asking to keep this album for sure.  If for anything, then to provide me a little “solace” whenever Kelly happens to be working those long night shifts at the hospital.

P.S.>  100 push-ups in 2 minutes!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

