Core

It Family Day and I’ve been up for an hour already, had my breakfast, coffee and morning poop and HRH is still in bed.  In other words, Family Day is off to a glorious beginning.  Later we’re heading out to do “family stuff” of course, but right now I’m milking this peace and quiet thing for as long as possible which includes clearing a space on the floor among all the random cat toys and completing Day 49 of my 100 Day Challenge (click HERE) with the 2nd of my Record Fair acquisitions from yesterday, ‘The Happy Moog‘  album by Jean-Jacques Perrery and Harry Breuer.

happymoog

I mean, really, what’s Family Day without a little uber-cheesy synthesizer Space Age Exotica?

Not one worth celebrating I tells ya!

C’mon get happy.

But can music really isolate “happy”, when it means so many different things to different people?  Well sure it can.  Simply grab a Moog in 1969, and imagine Martians have invaded and, Bob’s your uncle, you have such timelessly happy tunes like ‘March of the Martians‘, ‘Saturn Ski Jump‘, ‘Re-Entry to the Moon‘, ‘Paris 2079‘, and ‘Space Express‘.

Bliss.

Well, okay, maybe not bliss exactly but it will make you smile a happy smile…albeit in a very mocking, condescending “what the fuck is this?”  kind of happy way.  Yup, you can just join in the oompah parade of old-timey crap like parasols, all-day suckers, unicycles, and cultural stereotypes (‘Moog Foo Young‘, anyone?), and get giddy already.  It’s an ongoing, jokey vaudevillian pie-throwing farce – with the punchline in its 1970 liner notes:  “The world needs love, and this Moog Synthesizer can get with the heart and flowers scene like crazy.”

Say what?

The senile or the pre-pubescent maybe, but I hope they didn’t actually market this to flower children.  Either way, it’s keeping Toby the Kitten at bay through my 20 minutes of planking, push-ups, squats, crunches and whatnot – apparently Toby does not find the Moog as happy as others do – and that  was worth the money alone!

Truthfully, I could be listening to Somalian Death Metal right now and, seeing as how peaceful is currently is, I’d still be loving it.

This just happens to be, well, Moogier…and happy.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

