Core

Today was supposed to be long run day but it’s teaming down ice cold rain and I can’t be bothered to do more laps on the indoor track at the Port Colborne sports complex so, instead, I’m taking another recovery day, and by “Recovery Day” I really mean “Lazy Day”.   Later we have the ‘Sportsfest – Annual Soup Cook-Off’ to look forward but, first, it’s Day 41 of my 100 Day Challenge with a perfect rainy day album, ‘Today, Tomorrow & Forever‘  by Patsy Cline.

img_1490

‘Today, Tomorrow, and Forever’  was the first album released after Cline‘s death in 1964 and released on Pickwick sub label “Hilltop” Records.  This is not the same album, however, as the Greatest Hits CD compilation released years later (1988 maybe?) on Decca Records.  There are lots of Patsy’s hits on the album including ‘Walking After Midnight‘, ‘A Poor Mans Roses‘, ‘I’m Blue Again‘, and the ever so hap-hap-happy ‘A Church, A Courtroom, Then Goodbye‘.

I told you it was the perfect rainy day album, right?

The back of the album has a very detailed and interesting story recounting Patsy’s death in the ill-fated Piper PA-24 Comanche which crashed 90 miles outside of Nashville, TN in a little place called Camden.  Forensic examination concluded that everyone aboard had been killed instantly.  Her recovered wristwatch had stopped precisely at 6:20 pm.

Okay, who’s ready for some soup?

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

