Saturday Vinyl

Well, the bike/swim/bike is behind me and, honestly, it wasn’t as torturous as I originally envisioned it to be.  I did cut the swim a little short because I got bored but other than that, it’s a beautiful day out side and I got to do a little exploring on Snowflake to boot.  Now, however, I’m fucking famished and, ‘Yes, I know dear, we’re going out tonight’.  But that’s three hours from now and my stomach is doing somersaults, so I’m having some light nosh after a warm shower and reading a few more chapters of my book ‘Van Gogh’s Ear: The True Story‘ (Bernadette Murphyand), and listening to the ‘In Hearing of Atomic Rooster‘  album by the English psychedelic rock band Atomic Rooster.

in_hearing_of_atomic_rooster

I took a bit of a flyer on this album a few weeks ago for a few bucks because, hey, the band is called ‘Atomic Rooster’ and that’s awesome.

Atomic Rooster were originally formed by members of The Crazy World of Arthur Brown, organist Vincent Crane and drummer Carl Palmer.  Throughout their history, keyboardist Vincent Crane was the only constant member, and wrote the majority of their material. Their history is defined by two periods: the early-mid-1970’s and the early 1980’s.  The band went through radical style changes, but they are best known for the hard, progressive rock sound.

In Hearing Of‘  (1972) is funky, with ‘The Devil’s Answer‘  sounding like a meeting between Memphis soul and British rock.  The lyrics are Doom n’ Gloom-laden in the spirit of much of this genre of British hard rock at the time, and pseudo-classical references crop up from time to time, but the keyboards (provided by Vincent Crane) are generally tasty, and the melodies are often downright memorable.

I could right more about this album but, truthfully, I’m friggin’ beat and I have no inspiration what so ever.  It was awesome though, like really awesome!  ‘Breakthrough‘, ‘A Spoonful of Bromide Helps the Pulse Rate Go Down‘ and ‘Head In the Sky‘  are the obvious standouts and ‘Black Snake‘  will make you want to crawl into your own dark hole and pray for daylight, believe me.  If you want to read more about this treasure of an album there is an excellent write up HERE.

For the time being, I’m just shoveling food into my mouth and enjoying the heavy Moog and synthesizer jams until Kelly gets home and we can finally head out to The Sanctuary for our Valentine’s dinner courtesy of Crave Local Fresh.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

