Tuesday Night Vinyl

My two “active recovery” workouts are in the bag and dinner is in the can waiting for mommy to get home, so I’m chillaxing here at home with HRH and my new book ‘Van Gogh’s Ear: The True Story‘ by Bernadette Murphy and the ‘Synchronicity‘  album by The Police.

img_1450

I’ve already confessed to not being the hugest of Police fans but even I owned this album back in 1983.  I got in one of those Columbia House club scams where you get a dozen cassettes for a penny then get stuck in a Devil’s contract to spend another 6 kazillion dollars over the next 16 years otherwise you forfeit your first born or some crazy shit. I listened to it about a billion times and then gave up on it for whatever it was that Columbia forced me to own next (Toto, maybe?) but then our friend Leslie gifted us this same album for Christmas, so here I am indulging once more.

It’s like I’m being haunted by the ghost of Columbia House albums past.

However, while it was their most successful release thanks to the hugely popular singles ‘Every Breath You Take‘ (the ultimate creeper song), ‘King of Pain‘, ‘Wrapped Around Your Finger‘, and ‘Synchronicity II‘ ( which sounds disarmingly like a crappy Billy Idol song if you ask me), it also ultimately their last.

Personally, I liked the melancholic and hypnotic feel to ‘Tea In the Sahara‘.

And, as it turns out, I still do.

Huh.

Anyway, the album relies heavily on jazzy textures for Sting’s songs, which only work on the jumping, marimba-driven ‘Synchronicity I‘.  Then, as if to prove that the Police were still a band, there’s one song apiece from Stewart Copeland (‘Miss Gradenko‘) and Andy Summers (‘Mother‘), both of which are awful, as if they’re trying to sabotage the album.

Much of the album’s material was inspired by Arthur Koestler’s ‘The Roots of Coincidence’, which inspired the title and concept of the album. At the 1984 Grammy Awards the album was nominated for a total of five awards including Album of the Year and won three. At the time of its release and following its tour The Police were hailed as the “Biggest Band in the World” and in 2009, it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

Whoopee.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

