Interval (Hills) Spin

I bunked off my swim early this morning because after 16,450m  in the pool last week, I was feeling a little stiff and achy and decided to give my shoulders an extra days break.  Monday night’s interval spin-weights workout is still on the books, however, and I have the ‘Love‘  album by The Cult all queued up and ready to kick things off.

the_cult_hb_201015

This 1985 album (Beggar’s Banquet) displayed a marked improvement over the Cult’s early material, and though it remains underappreciated in America (worldwide it was a smash, reaching #4 in the UK and staying on the chart for 22 weeks afterwards), this exceptional record has actually aged better than the band’s more notorious (and equally important) releases: ‘Electric‘  and ‘Sonic Temple‘.

Equal parts psychedelic hard rock and new wave goth, the songs on ‘Love‘ emanate a bright guitar sheen, tight arrangements, crisp drumming, and a command performance from vocalist Ian Astbury, who as usual says a lot more with less than most singers. Overall, the album benefits from a wonderful sense of space, thanks in large part to guitarist Billy Duffy (who is much more subdued here than on future releases), whose restraint is especially notable on ‘Revolution‘ and the remarkably uncluttered title track. Duffy also provides compelling melodies (‘Hollow Man‘), driving riffs (‘Nirvana‘, ‘The Phoenix‘), and even a U2-like intro to ‘Big Neon Glitter‘.  Also on offer is the near-perfect ‘She Sells Sanctuary‘  and the smash hit ‘Rain‘, quite possibly the band’s most appealing single ever, which rocked out worlds back in our pre-high school years.  Personally, I also think that ‘Hollow Man’ never got the credit it rightfully deserved.

I kept the pace/intensity somewhat down key tonight as I’m heading back into the Brock “torture lab” (Kinesiology lab) to begin their latest study on the “Effects of Hyperpoxia on Exercise Performance in the Cold” (yup, I’m going to become a human Popsicle) beginning with my VO2-max test, so the doors to hell are getting et to open once again.  Good news is that by the end of the next four weeks, I should know if Hell does in fact freeze over.

God help me.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Spin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

