Stretch

I’m happy with the way this afternoon’s run went.  There was no pain or discomfort for my 45 minutes of consecutive running, albeit I’ve lost a bit of my run fitness that I will now have to reacquire so that will be something to work towards.  I’m forgoing the 20 minutes of pool running though to reward myself with a nice, slow, easy-does-it, better-safe-than-sorry stretch on ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning with the ‘Elysium‘  EP by Bears Den.

bearsden_elysium_1500-500x500

Taking a cue from earnest, pastoral folk-rockers like Mumford & Sons and the Avett Brothers, the London alt-country/indie folk trio formed around the talents of Joey Haynes and ex-Cherbourg members Andrew Davie and Kev Jones, honing their chops on tours with contemporaries like Of Monsters and Men, the Smoke Fairies, and Matt Corby before securing the opening slot for the Mumford’s 2012 performance at London’s massive O2 Arena.

This is the 2nd single released off their 2014 album ‘Islands‘ (which I have still yet to get to), backed by three live recordings of tracks from previous EP’s (‘Agape‘ and ‘Without/Within‘) ‘Don’t Let The Sun Steal You Away‘, ‘Isaac‘ and ‘Sophie‘, all recorded live at the Brixton Electric on 13th May 2014.

Good listen for a relaxing, well-deserved stretch.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

