Hump Day Vinyl

It’s been a long day of checking boxes, doting my i’s and crossing my t’s and all that other mindless shit that goes along with working in Corporate Hell.  Fortunately, I’m home now decompressing with a pulled pork sandwich, a glass of chocolate milk, the ‘NOFX: The Hepatitis Bathtub and Other Stories‘ (Jeff Alulis) and the ‘Ladies of the Canyon‘  album by Joni Mitchell.

41qodrvtoql

First of all, I understand that pulled pork, a Canada-born vegetarian 60’s folk singer and a book about an out of control 80’s punk band likely don’t go together but, meh, what’ya gonna do?

It’s my life.

‘Ladies of the Canyon’  is the 3rd studio album by Joni, released in 1970. The title makes reference to Laurel Canyon, a center of popular music culture in Los Angeles during the 1960’s.

The album includes several of Mitchell’s most noted songs, such as ‘Big Yellow Taxi‘, ‘Woodstock‘  (her celebration of the pivotal 1960’s New York rock festival, despite her not even being there) and ‘The Circle Game‘ (denoting the passage of time in touching terms).  Personally, I really dig ‘For Free‘ whose wind solos foreshadow Joni’s initial dabbling in jazz.  A number of the selections here (‘Willy‘  and ‘Blue Boy‘) use piano rather than guitar accompaniment; arrangements here are often more colorful and complex than before, utilizing cello, clarinet, flute, saxophone, and percussion.  Other tracks take completely different moods, ranging from the sunny, easygoing ‘Morning Morgantown‘ (a charming small-town portrait) to the nervously energetic ‘Conversation‘ (about a love triangle in the making) to the cryptically spooky ‘The Priest‘ (presenting the speaker’s love for a Spartan man).

It’s an easy-going listen for an otherwise easy-going evening.

And, hopefully, the farts I’m now starting to emit from the pulled pork will result in some peaceful, easy-going slumbers later on.

P.S.> Yes Kelly, I did eventually end up doing my core workout.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

