Intervals (Hills) Spin

Time for my routine Monday night hill interval sweatfest.

Yay.

Fortunately, I have some good old school tunes to keep me motivated, the ‘Sonic Temple‘  Album by The Cult.

the_cult_sonic_temple

This was a high school staple and, truthfully, I probably haven’t listened to it since.

Released in 1989, this album is more varied than its predecessors, and finds the band trying several different metal styles, from crunchy ‘Electric‘-era ’70s grooves and the fuzzy, noisy psychedelia of ‘Love‘, to mellow ballads and commercial ’80s hard rock.  Not all of the experiments work, as some of the songs lean toward ponderousness, but enough of them do to send the album easily into the Billboard Top Ten, largely due to the exposure provided by the hit single ‘Fire Woman‘, which still finds some regular play in my spin class playlists from time to time.  Personally, I’m a big fan of both ‘Soldier Blue‘ and ‘New York City‘ and ‘Automatic Blues‘…they sure helped apply the pedal to the medal, so to speak.

The album has some other good tunes on it though, like ‘Sun King‘, ‘Edie (Ciao Baby)‘  and ‘Sweet Soul Sister‘.  Oh, and here’s an interesting tidbit you might not know, ‘Sonic Temple’ was the last album recorded with longtime bassist Jamie Stewart, who left in 1990, and the first to feature former Hall & Oates and then-current Bryan Adams drummer, Mickey Curry.  Huh.

The big surprise for me was the inclusion of an unreleased track here that’s only available on the 25th Anniversary release of the album, ‘The River‘.  Holy shit!  I have to wonder why that song was never included in the place.  Absolutely killer!

Anyway, one workout down (the third on the day)…one more to go.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Spin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment