Friday Night Vinyl (Part 2)

It’s absolutely glorious to be having such a quiet, uneventful evening here at home.  Sure, I’m reading a book about a hardcore punk band while listening to cheesy bachelor pad lounge music but, hey, what’ya gonna do?  Sue me.  It’s certainly better than reading all the Trump bullshit that makes up 99.8% of my Facebook feed these days.

Anyway, moving on with the evening’s Exotica guilty pleasures is the ‘Yellow Bird‘  (1960)album by Arthur Lyman.

arthur-lyman-yellow-bird-cover

Arthur Lyman’s enchanted vibraphone conjures exotic magic on this HiFi reissue.  In other words, the perfect music you’d expect to hear at a tiki cocktail lounge.  ‘Yellow Bird‘  leans more on the cornucopia of actual bird calls that became Lyman’s musical signature later on.  Here Lyman delivers intoxicatingly rich music in the dense interplay of guiro (South American scraped gourd), maracas, and tambourine with the vibes in ‘Bamboo Taboo‘.  His use of four-mallet vibes (a pair in each hand) and added instrumentation of guitar, ukulele, flute, glockenspiel, and others results in a mix that is unhindered by much mid- and low-range instrumentation.  Thus soaring, Lyman provides aerial views of mysterious and beautiful oceanic utopias and dresses up such varied standards as ‘Havah Nagilah‘  and the American folk work song ‘John Henry‘ to percussive effect.  Also, he switches to the wooden, vibrato-less marimba and adds bass and piano for an unusually deep dive in plumbing the depths of ‘Arrive Derci Roma‘.

Why couldn’t I have known about this lounge Exotica stuff years ago?   I mean, it was already in my collection but I never appreciated it for the obvious powerful auditory aphrodisiac that it is.  The babes simply wouldn’t have been able to keep their hands off me and would have been lined up outside my front door just waiting for their chance to be schmoozed in turn by all this suave music.

WARNING:  If you are a female over the age of 14, I might have made you pregnant simply by forcing you to read this post about incredibly potent this music really is.

I mean, seriously, just look at the cover!

This shit is volcano HOT!

So I am telling myself anyway…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

