Rainy Day Sunday Vinyl (Part 2)

I finished my core workout (thank Christ!) and now I’m back in the EZ-Boy, hopefully, in the words of the Fresh Prince of Bel Air:

Where I’ll spend most of my day.

Okay, so I took a little creative liberty there.  Sue me.

Anyway, my new Frank Zappa indulgence is actually the first Zappa album I ever owned even prior to that stack of albums I got for a buck, the ‘Roxy & Elsewhere‘  album.

4677a3b6edf02979296fb82d40c19984-1000x1000x1

After his affair with jazz fusion (‘Waka/Jawaka‘ and ‘The Grand Wazoo‘, both released in 1972), Frank Zappa came back in late 1973 with an album of simple rock songs, ‘Over-Nite Sensation‘.  But the temptation for more challenging material was not long to resurface and, after a transitional LP (‘Apostrophe‘, early 1974), he unleashed a double LP of his most complex music, creating a bridge between his comedy rock stylings and Canterbury-style progressive rock.

Three-quarters of the album was recorded live at the Roxy in Hollywood and extensively overdubbed in the studio later.  Only three tracks (‘Dummy Up‘, ‘Son of Orange County‘,  and ‘More Trouble Every Day‘), taken from other concerts, are 100 percent live.  The band is comprised of George Duke (keyboards) – who steals the show on several tracks – Tom Fowler (bass), Ruth Underwood (percussion), Bruce Fowler (trombone), Walt Fowler (trumpet), Napoleon Murphy Brock (vocals), and Chester Thompson (drums) – drummer Ralph Humphrey, keyboardist Don Preston, and guitarist Jeff Simmons appear on the non-Roxy material.

The sequence ‘Echidna’s Arf (Of You)‘/’Don’t You Ever Wash That Thing?‘  stands as Zappa’s most difficult rock music and provides quite a showcase for Underwood. Other highlights include ‘Penguin in Bondage‘  and ‘Cheepnis‘, a horror movie tribute.  And let’s not forget the souped-up funk of ‘Pygmy Twylyte‘.  In other words, all the pieces here were premiere recordings and mark highlights of the Mothers performances through the early 70’s, making this album a “must have” for most Zappa fanatics.  Actually, this might well be Frank’s greatest live album, and he has more live albums than most groups have albums. 

That’s probably why I purchased it way back when because I was into live albums and this came highly recommended…and rightly so.  Having said that, this is about as much Zappa as I can handle in a single day.

Time for some good ‘ol fashioned soul-sucking, mind-rotting television.

Sorry, Frank.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

