Rainy Day Sunday Vinyl (Part 1)

Now that all my workouts for the day are in the can (minus one core workout that I’ll do later on), there’s nothing left to do on this rainy Sunday afternoon but sit back in my EZ-Boy, be lazy, and plow through a few more chapters of my ‘Zappa: A Biography‘  (Barry Miles) book.  This afternoon’s listen then is carrying on with the recent Frank Zappa exploration I’ve been making lately, with ‘Joe’s Garage (Acts I & II)‘.

3394092

This is likely the most Frank Zappa I have ever heard in my life; especially in one go.  And as I’ve said before, I don’t necessarily dig all of it but, hey, at least I can say that I know about it than I did before.

And the fact that Kelly still hasn’t divorced me yet is a good thing as well.

Anyway, two months after the release of ‘Act I‘ , “Uncle Frank” completed ‘Joe’s Garage‘  with this two-LP set, meaning that, counting the two contractual albums ‘Sleep Dirt‘ and ‘Orchestral Favorites‘, he released seven LPs’ worth of new material in 1979.  Maybe that’s why this album – to me anyway – seems so thin and thrown together, musically and dramatically, especially on its second and third sides. I liked ‘Act I‘ well enough, but this is definitely more on the miss’ side of the spectrum.  I mean, ‘Sy Borg‘?

Really?

The album relies heavily on what Zappa termed “xenochrony” – previously recorded guitar solos transferred onto new, rhythmically different backing tracks to produce random musical coincidences. Such an approach is guaranteed to produce some slow moments as well, but critics latched onto the work more for its conceptual substance.  So they claim anyway.

This album continues with the “The Central Scrutinizer” satirizing social control mechanisms, consumerism, corporate abuses, gender politics, religion, and the rock & roll lifestyle; all these forces which conspire against the title protagonist, an average young man who simply wants to play guitar and enjoy himself.

Even though Zappa himself reputedly hated punk rock and even says so on the album, his ideas seemed to support punk’s do-it-yourself challenge to the record industry and to social norms in general. Since this is 1979-era Zappa, there are liberal applications of his trademark scatological humor (the title ‘Keep It Greasey‘ on this album is self-explanatory).  Still, in spite of its flaws, there’s enough substance here it to make it a somewhat listenable experience albeit not as good as ‘Act I‘, nor does it rank with his earliest Mothers of Invention masterpieces I’ve listened to already.

It’s certainly not more of that ‘200 Motels‘ bullshit, that’s for sure.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

