“Long Run”

I’m putting quotation marks around today’s workout because it wasn’t really a “run”, per se.  Instead it was a long, slow shuffle around the track at my local gym just below the threshold that makes it uncomfortable (click HERE for the plan).  There was no cardio, no intervals, no real wear and tear of any kind actually.  Just remaining on the balls of my feet and shuffling forward on the inside of the track for 60 minutes.

My listening pleasure then was nothing short of, “hey, what’s going to kill 60 minutes?”, so I went with a rather odd disc in my collection, the ‘Live from the Bug Jar‘ by the Peachey Neachey’s.

robe

Who are the Peachey Neachey’s you ask?  Beats the shit out of me honestly but I think they originated from the Rochester, NY area.  In fact, this show at the Bug Jar (recorded December 8th, 2001) is a now retired concert venue in Rochester and the band spent a considerable amount of time talking to their audience throughout the performance as if they knew them well so, yeah, I’m going with they’re local.

How do I know the Peachey Neachey’s?

Good question.

In 2001 (I think) I attended the Scottypaluza festival (also in the Rochester area) with a group of friends.  Late at night we were tweaking off our gourds and walking around the festival grounds when we happened upon the Neachey’s performing a 45 minute version of Pink Floyd‘s ‘Echoes‘ complete with ambient screeches, whistles, moans and what have you.  In other words, my poor drug-addled lizard brain was blown wide open.  And while I don’t remember specifically purchasing the album afterwards I must have because, well, here it is.

This particular disc (a “Do-It-Yourself” album by KY-Tell Records, no less) also recaptures the same ‘Echoes‘ live performance (here, however, it’s only 23 minutes long).  It was still cool, of course, but let’s just say I was lacking the significant chemical stimulants in my system to stop me in my tracks this time around.

Having said that, despite my slow shuffle pace not being beyond anything even remotely resembling challenging (I didn’t work up a sweat), do you have any idea how hard it is to maintain your slow shuffle while allowing yourself to be lapped by old ladies?

Talk about discipline!

It’s tougher than you think.

Fortunately, as per my hopes with this new injury program I have myself on (see above link), this slow shuffle didn’t result in any pain or discomfort and I even transitioned into the pool for another 20 minutes of running afterwards, meaning that I “ran” for a full 80 minutes which is about where I was when this whole bullshit injury started in the first place.  So I’m confident then I’m on the right track (no pun intended) and providing I can maintain my patience and stay smart, I should be able to return to my usual run form outside in another week or two.

*fingers crossed*

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

