Sunday Vinyl

I have approximately 3 hours left until the “Hurricane HRH” returns from her weekend away.  That gives me exactly 120 minutes of uninterrupted writing time on the ‘ol novel with my tuna sub and pint (maybe two) of ‘Seasonal Exchange‘ from Brimstone Brewing.

Of course, one also has to set the right ambiance in which to be productive and to begin with, that ambiance is being set by the ‘A Jazz Piano Anthology‘  album.

img_1390

This was another $2.00 purchase from Record Theater in Buffalo, NY this past Friday. I love these anthologies as you get tones of great tunes on one album, or in this case, double album, and I really have a hard time not purchasing them.

I mean, c’mon, 30 jazz greats for $2.00, which equates to ¢0.04 per track…by a significant jazz great no less!

How can you ever go wrong with a deal like that?

Most of the major jazz pianists are featured on this selection apiece in this interesting two-LP sampler. Among the 30 pianists are Eubie Blake, James P. Johnson, Fats Waller, Bix Beiderbecke (playing ‘In a Mist‘), Art Tatum (his amazing version of ‘Tiger Rag‘), Duke Ellington, Thelonious Monk, Bud Powell, Horace Silver, Bill Evans and Cecil Taylor. Sure there’s a few missing like Oscar Peterson and McCoy Tyner, but the cutoff point for this compilation style-wise is around 1960.  Unfortunately, the exact recording dates and personnel on these particular tracks are not given.

Either way, what is represented here well justifies the ¢0.04.

Of course, it doesn’t really matter though because this two-fer serves as an excellent introduction to the talents of these many classic pianists.  And, as I expected, it helped set the perfect “creative mood” for putting pen to paper this evening…well, fingers to keyboard anyway.

But I digress.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

