Core

This afternoon’s plan is to cycle to the Port Colborne YMCA where I will complete my long swim, then cycle back home.  About three and half hours all in when it’s all said and done.  Then it’s a bowl of hot soup at The Sanctuary, followed by a premiere showing of the ‘Oasis: Supersonic‘ documentary at the FirstOntario Performance Art Center.  First, however, I have to complete my last day (Day 14) of the 2nd week of the “28 Day Challenge” (click HERE).  Yup, I’m half way there!

And to help me complete this 20 minutes of planks, push-ups, squats, crunches and other shit on my basement mat, I have ‘The Love Album‘  by John Hartford.

600x600

I found this album yesterday for $3.00 at Record Theater in Buffalo yesterday when I went birthday shopping for HRH (purchases will be posted in the near future).  I found a few other interesting things as well, but those will similarly have to wait for future posts.

John Hartford’s death in 2001 has brought a number of issues and reissues, but none have been more important than Camdem Deluxe’s release of his six early RCA albums along with the never-before-released ‘Radio John‘. These albums offer a sidelong view of Hartford in the mid- to late ’60s, prior to his ‘Aereo-Plain‘ days.

But (yay me!), this is an original copy.

That’s right bitches, not that crappy “twofer” re-released in 2002 along with ‘The Housing Project‘  album.

This shit is legit!

Needless to say, it’s a bit beat up and worse for the wear but it plays just fine.

The Love Album‘  captures Hartford on his third release, recorded in 1968. It finds him using slightly bigger arrangements, gaining confidence, and more or less coming into his own. ‘The Six O’Clock Train and a Girl With Green Eyes‘  bounces along like the happy ’60s pop song it is, while the smart and catchy ‘Why Do You Do Me Like You Do?‘  manages to be funny without being overly obvious. ‘I Would Not Be Here‘  is the type of song Dylan might’ve written if he’d come from Nashville and didn’t take himself quite so seriously, while ‘Landscape Grown Cold‘ and ‘This Eve of Parting‘  find Hartford feigning country sincerity.

Okay, with this workout in the bag it’s time to get going and head out on the bike.  That soup sure isn’t earning itself.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

