Core

I received some tragic news today that there was a devastating fire at my favorite bicycle shop.  Over the past two or three years, Brandon (the owner) has done more for my family and I to build us up through cycling than anyone else I could possibly credit.  He promotes not only the sport, but he has promoted me personally despite my total lacking of having anything resembling that of professional or mention-worthy status.

Most notably, he promotes his community through various charitable contributions (the dude rode from Ottawa to St. Catharines – well over a 1000 km’s – in 5 days in support of the Strong Kids program).  In short, this is exactly the kind of guy you want working on your bike.  He even tunes kid’s bikes for free for Pete’s sake, how awesome is that?  He certainly deserves better than this and so it is with a considerable amount of anger that I am entering into Day 12 of my 28 Day Challenge this afternoon (click HERE).

As such, I even have some “angry music” lined up with the ‘Live at Third Man Records‘ album by Death From Above, 1979.

img_1385

A decade after a sudden break up, following the release of their rich and gritty first record ‘You’re A Woman, I’m a Machine‘, tours with Nine Inch Nails and Queens Of The Stone Age, and one foot in the door of the mainstream, Death From Above 1979 reunited and released their second LP ‘The Physical World‘ last fall. The duo picked right up where they left off and hit the road last summer.

Amidst their resurgence, DFA 1979 decided to dip their toes in the water of Nashville’s  Third Man Record’s “Blue Room”.  The room is now home to the 1953 Scully Lathe that previously cut James Brown singles at King Records, and where they decided to record this epic live performance to master and be reproduced for generations to enjoy.  It was released just this past April.

Anyway, I’m not much in the mood for witty and insightful repartee regarding today’s  album.  Sorry.  Rest assured it’s good, and the workout got done…but I’m still angry.  However, it you want to help make me happy though, you can always go HERE and help Brandon’s family out with a small donation.

I ::heart:: you in advance.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

