Post Sketti Vinyl

Ya know, the kid did alright with dinner.  I mean, it’s not like boiling noodles and heating up tomato sauce is hard work but it was really good.  Like, really good.  Maybe that’s just because I didn’t have to make it.  And now?  She’s cleaning up.  Yeah.  Clearly I have the skills when it comes to parenting.  Her only request:  more records.  Yes, dear.  I can do that.  So we’ve now moved onto the ‘Reckless Abandon‘ by David Bromberg.

mi0001543063

Oh, and get this:  this was her choice! Yes.  My little 11-year-old vinyl aficionado digs her some David Bromberg.

As I said before, clearly I have the skills.

By billing this album to the David Bromberg Band, Bromberg signals that the listener can expect to hear more than just his adenoidal voice and variety of acoustic instruments. But then, that just means it’s as eclectic as most David Bromberg albums.

The lead-off track ‘I Want to Go Home‘ has a blues-rock feel; horns wail into a Dixieland swarm during the old folk tune ‘Stealin’‘; and then comes a medley of old-timey country tunes played on banjo, mandolin, and guitar.  That’s just the first three tracks, and before the album is over, one has been treated to melodic folk-rock (‘Baby Breeze‘), blues (‘Nobody’s Fault but Mine‘), and jump blues with a touch of funk (‘Beware Brother Beware‘), not to mention a jazzy sequel to ‘Stagger Lee‘, ‘Mrs. Delion’s Lament‘, in which Stagger Lee takes over hell, and a medley of Civil War songs.  This also happens to be HRH‘s favorite tune.  Funny that a murder ballad would be her favorite (should I be scared?) on the album…but who I to judge?

Personally, I think ‘Beware, Brother Beware‘ is hilarious and ‘Child’s Song‘ is about as pretty a tear jerker of a tune as it’s going to get.

Let’s just say we dig it all here in post Sketti-land.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

