Drills/Easy Tempo (6.5k)

I’m still recovering from my shin/calf issue and I want to make sure I am near 100% before I start to unleash the madness on my weekly fartlek runs, so I’m keeping this 6.5k run short and simple with some drills thrown in for good measure because, well, why not?  Today’s soundtrack for jaunting out and back along the Friendship Trail is ‘The In Sound From Way Out!‘ by the Beastie Boys.

in-sound-inset

Originally released through the Beastie’s French fan club (1996), ‘The In Sound From Way Out!‘ is actually just a collection of the group’s funky instrumentals from ‘Check Your Head‘ and ‘Ill Communication‘, with a couple of new tracks thrown in.

The Beastie’s have a flair for loose, gritty funk and soul-jazz, and the stuttering, greasy keyboards of ‘Money Mark‘ give the music an extra edge – he helps make the music sound as authentic as anything from the early ’70s.  Fans of the band’s dynamic wordplay might find this album a bit of a disappointment, but anyone who grooved on the wildly eclectic fusions of the previously mentioned albums (I am among you) will find the album endlessly enjoyable.

Oh, and by the way, the title and cover art concept were borrowed from the Perrey and Kingsley album of the same name since I’m sure you were wondering.

This instrumental approach is fine with me today as I’m just looking for some rich and funky to keep me moving along today, hopefully finding that lost spring in my step so to speak.  Especially since it’s currently -6° (feels like -14°) outside.  Brrr!

So about the run then, the leg (‘ol Lightning actually) was a bit stiff and aggravated at the beginning, but once I was finished all the hopping, leaping and skipping and started actually running proper…it felt great.  So I kind of picked it up into an easy tempo pace ranging somewhere between a 5:15km/min – 5:30min/km pace with the last 250m at an all out (well, for me anyway) sub 4:20min/km pace.  So maybe the leg is on the mend.  YAY!

So now I’m going to stretch it out nicely and, hopefully, it won’t be too nasty later on or tomorrow.  Plus, working it out a bit on the spin bike this evening might be a nice loose-up opportunity for it as well.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

