Monday Night Vinyl

The girls are in bed for the evening leaving me a few precious quiet minutes to take in a few more chapter of my book and a bit more cheesy soul with another Isaac Hayes album, this time the ‘For the Sake of Love‘  (1978) album.

mi0004139437

This was another throw-away album I scored yesterday for – get this – $1.00.

Yup.  A whole buck.

While Kelly might think that this was too much to spend, I disagree.

I loves me my 70’s “sex-ay” music.  Besides two of ‘ol Ike’s best disco takes – ‘Zeke the Freak‘, with its ultra-funky bassline, and the ear-buzzing ‘Shaft II‘ are on this album, acting as adrenaline for the slower tracks here; also upbeat is the inspiring ‘If We Ever Needed Love‘.  The rest of the songs are slow, romantic items, with Ike’s traditional raps inserted in just the right spots.

Puuuuuure love, baby.

And what’s an Isaac Hayes album if it doesn’t have a drawn out cover tune that he absolutely tortures with “his love”?  In this case, he tacks a rap onto the beginning of Billy Joel’s ‘Just the Way You Are‘ (over nine sultry minutes in length), slows it to a rush-hour crawl, and drains it for every drop of emotion he can – done in the style of his Stax records from the earl seventies.  He uses this same technique on ‘Believe in Me‘  and the best performance (cheese-wise anyway) – the slow, heartfelt rendition of James Taylor‘s ‘Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight‘.

This album has more cheese than the state of Wisconsin.

Fortunately, I like cheese.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

