New Years Day Vinyl (Part 2)

In the second part of this evenings vinyl pleasures I’m leading away from the “sex-ay soul” before Kelly’s poor girly heart explodes mid-beat.  After all, I’m sure she can only takes so much imminent hotness and, well, she already has me…so….

Anyway, I’m making 360° turn from the soul to the jazz with the ‘Francis A. & Edward K.‘ album by Frank Sinatra and Duke Ellington.

mi0001712257

By the end of 1967 when this album was recorded (on Frank’s birthday no less), Sinatra and Ellington had a combined 90 years of performing and recording without ever getting in each other’s way and there are fans of both who will have hoped that the avoidance could have continued.  The pre-release hype and Stan Cornyn’s typically fawning liner notes celebrate this however as a momentous event in recorded music history.

Here’s just an excerpt:

“Enter Sinatra.

“How’s your cornpone, baby?”  Laughs from the band.  Sinatra wearing a vest.  Green and gold paisley tie at 3/4 mast.  Sings, “Oh, I just gotta get her outta my bed…”  More laughs.  “Let’s play some dirty songs” he says.”

And it just goes on and on and on.

Unfortunately, the album didn’t quite match its high expectations.  At the time of recording, the Ellington band was no longer at its peak, and Sinatra was concentrating on contemporary pop material, not standards. It was decided that the record would be a mixture of standards and new material; as it happened, only one Ellington number, ‘I Like the Sunrise’, was included. Due to a mild cold, Sinatra was not at his best during the sessions, and his performance is consequently uneven on the record, varying between robust, expressive performances and thin singing.  Similarly, Ellington and his band are hot and cold, occasionally turning in inspired performances and just as frequently walking through the numbers. But that doesn’t mean there is nothing to recommend on ‘Francis A. & Edward K.‘. On the contrary, the best moments on the album fulfill all of the duo’s promise. All eight songs are slow numbers, which brings out Sinatra’s romantic side. ‘Indian Summer‘  is a particular standout, with a sensual vocal and a breathtaking solo from saxophonist Johnny Hodges.

What’s funny about this album is that I almost didn’t get it.  I was browsing other things when a young couple beside picked it up and not immediately knowing who “Edward K.” was, poo-pooed it and put it back before going off to look for something more instantly recognizable I guess.  So I nabbed it instead…for $2.00.  A short while later I noticed they had gravitated back for it but, low and behold, it was gone.

Sorry bitches.

You snooze, you loose.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

