Core

And on the second day of 2017, the plan called for both a swim and spin workout prior to this evenings Masters spin class.  However, the plan also calls for my 2nd day of the “28 Day Challenge” (click HERE) that I initiated, well, yesterday.  It’s only for 10 minutes, but a hot sweaty, challenging 10 minutes all the same.  And today’s core partner is Toby the Cat.  Oh, and I have the perfect (roughly) 10 minute listening opportunity too with the ‘Dragon Pants‘  EP by the Drive-By Truckers.

img_1345

This is a special 10″ release featuring a few ‘English Oceans‘ B-sides released exclusively for Record Store Day in 2014.  I have only seen this once before but hesitated because the store wanted an insane amount of money for it.  Likewise, I also don’t typically purchase 10″ singles either but seeing as how it was practically half price and I do love me some DBT, I reasoned that this was my second (and possibly last) chance at owning this so I nabbed it op.

The EP features five tracks, ‘Dragon Pants‘, ‘Grandpa Rock City‘ (a terrific character sketch of Patterson’s grandfather like only Patterson Hood can do), ‘Trying To Be The Boss (On A Beaver Brown Budget)‘ (a cool Mike Cooley number), ‘Rock Solid‘, and ‘Natural Light‘ (Alternative First Take Recording).

It’s short but it’s amazing.  I would have been happy with any of these tracks on the main album, especially ‘Grandpa Rock City‘.  It’s an excellent listen for my 10 minutes of huffing and puffing through a series of 2 minute planks, and 1 minutes worth of push-ups and crunches on my basement mat prior to heading to the pool.

Day 2 of the challenge – in the books.

Go me!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

