Christmas Eve Vinyl

Kelly has been working and HRH has been away and I was anticipating a pretty “craptastic” Christmas Eve Day but, ya know…it’s been pretty awesome.  The rain cleared up long enough for me to get a bike ride in, I binged-watched ‘A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas‘, then did some last minute Christmas shopping before closing out The Sanctuary for the second year running with a few pints if the ‘Seasonal Exchange‘.  So, yeah, things could be worse.  Now I’m getting things all neat and tidy for Kelly to come home so we can have some (edited to keep our forth coming festivities a secret) and listening to the ‘This Warm December: A Brushfire Holiday Vol.1‘  album.

img_1296

I found this album rather randomly at the Niagara Records shop in St. Catharines about 5 months ago.  It hadn’t even been opened yet; still in it’s original shrink-wrapping.  I figured it would make for a great listen over the holidays, so here I am listening to it now.

See how forward thinking I am?

This is a cool little collection of seasonal material released as an exclusive Record Store Day release back in 2008.

It represents a nice change from the usual holiday schlock with some of these artists either embracing or mocking all that’s cheesy about the holidays with lyrics about reindeer sweaters and texting from the airport.  Basically, it replaces the snowy sounds of most Christmas albums with a warm mix of acoustic guitars and relaxed dorm-room crooning.

Not the same ‘ol crap you’ve been subjected to on the popular radio stations, that’s for sure.

A standout is Jack Johnson’s version of ‘Someday at Christmas‘, the Stevie Wonder classic with a message so timeless that one (not surprisingly) might even mistake for a new song.  He also does a terrific “Beach-ified” version of ‘Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer‘  if you can dig it.   A couple of other interesting tracks are Rogue Wave’s cover of The Who’s ‘Christmas‘  from the ‘Tommy‘  album (who even knew this was a Christmas song?) and ‘No Christmas for Me‘  by newcomer Zee Avi which is amazing.  And beleive me when I say you will never hear anything like Money Mark’s tuba-anchored ‘Stuck at the Airport‘  and ALO’s energetic ‘Christmas Time‘ on the radio in the near future.

25% of the profits from the album were donated in support of children’s music education.  That’s pretty coll too.  Oh and, hey, the album is made only more awesome given that it also has a picture of a bike on the cover.

I could have mentioned that it’s been printed on festive red and green vinyl too but I thought that might be rubbing it in too much for the $5.00 I paid for it.

 

Just sayin’…

Now all I need to do for next year is find Vol.2.

Honey, you can consider this post as a “Christmas hint” for an amazing stocking stuffer for next year.

Hint hint…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

