Hump Day in Corporate Hell (Part 2)

Moving onto Part 2 of the Christmas Jazz Boner theme for the day here at Ground Zero of Corporate Hell with the ‘Ella Wishes You A Swinging Christmas‘ album by Ella Fitzgerald.

r-2335880-1390030999-2138-jpeg

This album was recorded in the summer of 1960, with a studio orchestra arranged and conducted by Frank DeVol.

The album is a charming, warmly humorous – and yes, swinging – set of classic Christmas tunes.  The program is familiar, from bouncy singalongs like ‘Jingle Bells‘  to slinky ballads like a downright sexy ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas‘, but Fitzgerald treats each song with exactly as much respect as it deserves.  And so Frank Loesser’s ‘What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve‘  is wistfully romantic and Sammy Cahn and Jule Styne’s ‘Let It Snow‘  is kittenishly enticing.  As always, Norman Granz’s production avoids the schlock that drowns some other holiday sets.

This is about as good as any jazz Christmas albums is likely to get.

Hell, I might even have myself an extra Ferrero Rocher.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

