Fartlek Run (10.5k)

Today plan calls for a lunchtime fartlek run.  However, my legs still feel a bit beat up after Sundays slippery long run and there’s still not exactly 100% traction out on the roads so I’m going to play the intervals by feel and just see what happens.  My go-to album today was an old favorite of mine which, hopefully, stands the test of time seeing as how I also haven’t listened to it for, what, 28 years or so?  I’m referring to the ‘Spartacus‘  album by The Farm.

r-1407749-1390998367-3183-jpeg

This is the debut album released in 1991 at the height of the “Madchester” scene by one of the more ridiculous by-products of baggy “Shoegazerdom”, containing all of its rolling, neo-psychedelic grooves and blissfully colorful pop hooks, yet very little of its charm, character, or substance.  Having said that, it did reached #1 in the UK album chart, staying there for a week.  ‘Spartacus’  was dedicated to the parents of former band member Andy McVann, who died in a car chase escaping from the police on October 1st of 1986.

Sadly, the album has not withstood the test of time.

It blew.

I admit that I loved goofy ‘Groovy Train‘, likely the only big hit off the album back in the early 90’s but, alas…now?

Not so much.

Total Shit List.

Even the other semi-single like ‘All Together Now‘  and ‘Higher and Higher‘ blow.  In fact, now, I’m thinking that McVan’s parents are the ones who got off lucky never having to hear this hot mess.  What I loved about it way back when, I’m not so sure.  Clearly, I must have been taking one too many happy pills at the time.  The remix version of ‘Very Emotional‘ was alright…barely.

So let’s just skip to the run, shall we?

It feels like I’ve been giving myself permission to fail a lot before my workouts.  I know that’s an important aspect of healthy training but, still, I also feel like I’m not developing the ultimate mental toughness required to complete these assigned workouts come Hell or high water – or Hell and slippery ice as it were.

First off I going to say that I completed the whole workout; all 10.5k worth.  It wasn’t my finest pace given the condition of my legs, the slippery surfaces and, well, you get the picture.  Having said, in getting to the end of the workout I mentally quit about 3 kazillion times.  Even 30 seconds into my first 4 minute interval I start negotiating with myself to do maybe 3 minute intervals, or even 2 minute intervals instead.  Shit, I’m even due for an easy run.  How about that instead?  Yet, somehow I managed all five.  They only averaged around 4:45-5:00min/km  pace at each go, but I’ll take it.  In fact, my best pace was only 4:23km/min  for the whole run.  I will even admit that my avg pace (5:58min/km) was slower than my failed attempt at this workout two weeks ago (click HERE) and my distance was 30 meters short.

But  I didn’t quit.

Likewise, the following 2 sets of 3 minute intervals weren’t fantastic either but, hey, I was dodging both solid patches of ice along Thunder Bay Rd. as well as asshole drivers who apparently give zero fucks about my safety at the time…so there is that.

Give me some credit.

So while it may not have been my finest hour I am proud that a) I finished the workout, and b) I finished the workout that I have failed at in my previous two attempts.  I will also say this, the TrainingPeaks website only rated this run with a TSS (click HERE) of 86.1 which, let me tell you…is total bullshit.  I suffered, let me tell you.  AND I finished it.   All things considered, I “got on, got on, got on the groovy train” .

So fuck you TrainingPeaks!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

