Long Run (15.13k)

We had a good night last night at The Sanctuary watching the Great Lake Swimmers and Limestone Chorus; many pints of the new Seasonal Exchange were had.  This morning, however, it’s time to pay the piper with my planned long run.  There’s likely not going to be any PB’s had today as the roads are shitty thanks to last night’s ice storm and I’m really just hoping to get back in one piece.  I do, however, have something cool to pass the time, a live recording of the North Mississippi All-Stars performing at the Music Farm in Charleston, NC (11-15-2006).

6ac8fac23aab13cc21f2a3a98d360625

It’s getting harder to find longer albums to listen to for my long runs.  I’ve just about depleted my stores of official live albums in my collection, so I’m likely going to have to begin drawing from the thousands of bootlegs I also have stored away for just such an emergency.

This show was recorded during their tour with Jon Spencer in support of the re-release of their ‘Spencer Dickinson (The Man Who Lives For Love)‘  album and as you might expect, Jon Spencer himself joins in the show at the end for the ripping encore of ‘Freedom Highway‘ and ZZ Top‘s ‘Sharp Dressed Man‘.  Of course, the band just on their own is pretty awesome to and songs like Albert CollinsGoin’ Down South‘, Hendrix‘ ‘Hear My Train A-Comin‘, ‘Po Black Maddy‘, and a medley of Bo Diddley‘s ‘Hey Bo Diddley> Who Do You Love?’ should have given me lots of motivation to keep to pace.

Could they should have, but not today. No, sir.  Today’s run totally blew chunks…chunks of ice that is.

For the entire 15.13k that I did cover in the 90 minutes I don’t think I felt solid pavement under my feet once.  Every road I ran – even the back roads that I thought would have been at least gravely and, hopefully, traction – had fuck all to offer as far as solid footing was concerned.  In fact, to give you some idea what I was up against today, I got passed along Gilmore Rd. by an elderly couple…on skates.

Yes, skates.

There they went merrily on their way down the middle of the road in the middle of Buttfuck Stevensville on old beat up skates going heaven-knows-where.  Needless to say, my pace completely sucked today (5:54min/km) and by the end of 90 minutes my quads were so shot that when my neighbor passed by and jokingly called out if I wanted a ride home I was all like “fuck ya!”, shut off the Garmin and hoped in – which is why my run stopped abruptly at the corner of Nigh and Ridge Rds.  I just didn’t have the wherewithal to navigate the last 3k of black ice home again.

Fuck that.

So while this wasn’t exactly a run for the books, I did manage an extra 4 and half minutes longer than last week’s run and a mere .16k.  Whoopee shit.  But under the circumstances, I’ll take it a small victory that I got out at all.

Bring on the hot soup!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

