Long Spin

Seeing as how yesterday’s planned activities were such a flop I’m determined to complete today’s routine with no hiccups.  That means at least 90 minutes on the bike and another two hours in the pool.  No excuses.

To keep me going on the bike, I’m keeping with the theme I’ve established on my two weeks worth of long spins, getting reacquainted with the B-sides for the bands I used to listen to in university, this time Oasis and the ‘Complete Singles Collection’94-05‘  box set.

img57899dea532c0_l

This super deluxe collection of B-sides, live and rare outtakes was released in 2006 as a Japan-only limited edition box set released to coincide with the 2006 ‘Stop The Clocks‘ greatest hits compilation.  The box set contains a discography booklet (in Japanese) and re-issues of every Oasis single released from ‘Shakermaker‘  up until ‘Let There Be Love‘.  Each of the 25 CD singles came sealed in individual slimline jewel cases and housed in a glossy, black, flip top cardboard box with the classic Oasis logo on the top and front.

Of course for my purposes, I slimmed down the songs to include only the true B-sides (ie. the tracks that were not released on any of the normal albums) for each of the single.  These include such cool tunes as ‘Fade Away‘, ‘Rockin’ Chair‘, ‘Headshrinker‘, ‘The Swamp Song‘, ‘The Masterplan‘, ‘D’yer Wanna Be A Spaceman‘ (a cool little accoustic ditty), ‘Talk Tonight‘, and ‘Acquiescence‘.  Any of these tracks cold have easily been a feature for any of the albums they supported.  My favorite however was the really cool ‘It’s Better People’ which might just be my new favorite Oasis song.

Likewise, Oasis knows their way around an interesting cover song as well.  Among the more interested covers they attempted include here are ‘Heroes(David Bowie), ‘Cum On Feel the Noise‘ (Quiet Riot), ‘Helter Skelter‘ (The Beatles), ‘Street Fighting Man‘ (Rolling Stones), and ‘My Generation‘ (The Who)…just to name a few.

So an interesting spin it was.  Just me and 4 girls in the gym, which makes things a little awkward as, really, I have no where to look.  I mean, I’m bored spinning on the spot so, yes, I start to people watch.  You can only stare at your watts or the small section of carpet in front of the bike for so long.  So if anything moves, it immediately captures your attention – well, I find anyway.  Of course, the very second you’re spotted “people watching” by any one of the girls – and remember, it’s a small gym so this is going to be inevitable – you’re also now a pervert.

So, yeah, that’s me.  The gym pervert.

Sorry girls.

That aside, most of the tracks here that I enjoyed the most were from the bands first three albums.  The others, well, they were okay as I had pretty much jumped ship with the band by that point.  Fortunately though they came up towards the end of the spin when I was already winding down and getting mentally prepped to transition into the pool for my second long workout of the day.

Fortunately, there will be a few celebratory wobbly pops in my neat future when Uncle Lance comes to see the Great Lake Swimmers play this evening at The Sanctuary.  Oh, and there may be a post-workout Ham & Swiss sammy with red onion jelly from The Kitchen, here in Ridgeway to boot (don’t hate Kelly).

Now THAT’S  motivation, folks!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Spin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

