Hump Day Vinyl in Corporate Hell (Part 2)

Ya know…today’s work day hasn’t sucked.  That’s right – I said it: it’s been a decent day thus far.  Nobody has yet fucked with my shit nor have I felt the impulse to stab anyone in the face or send menacing death threats via company email.  Maybe that previous self-relaxation hypnosis mind-screwing at the hands of Dr. Steiner really worked (see previous post).  Who knows for sure, but whatever it was, I’m ready to move onto something that I’ve really been looking forward to listening to, ‘Animal Prisms‘  by Pop Pistol.

img_1269

There’s an amazing story behind this album that I’ve been holding off on telling, but seeing as how I’m listening to this record now, this seems to be the opportune time.

When I was visiting San Antonio a few weeks ago, I was given a tip by one of my class participants about a small independent book shop and record store called ‘Imagine Books and Records‘.

I love searching out new record stores and interesting vinyl while traveling as it sure as shit beats hanging out and jerking the sausage back in the hotel room.  Some of these places I find are either total busts or, as in this case, a complete score.  Luckily, the place wasn’t far from the hotel so I vented out one evening after stuffing myself with more chicken-fried steak than any human being should ever be forced to eat at ‘Lulu’s Bakery and Cafe‘.  I figured a little light footwork through the aisles of used books and records might help my digestion and ease the ominous chicken-fried fart I was sure to let go later on back at the hotel in the middle of the night.

When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted by a small group of rather nerdy-looking people sitting around a table who proceeded eyed me suspiciously as if I just walked in on a ritual suicide or something.  Maybe they were playing Dungeons & Dragons, Magic or something equally “nerdtastic”, I don’t know, but they seemed just as surprised to see me as I was to see them I guess.

However, I was also warmed greeted by a fellow who introduced himself as Ezra, the owner of the store.  When he noticed it was the records I was interested in, he engaged me in polite conversation about where I was from, what I liked to listen to as well as offering to “work something out”  if I found a few things I was interested in. And who can pass up an offer like that?

Not I.

The collection of used records was small but, DAYUM!  There were a lot of great records in there including albums that had been on my “To Get” list for some time.   Needless to say, there were quite a few records I knew I was going to go home with.  Upon figuring out that I was primarily interested in something “local”, he prcoeeded to show me albums in the store’s collection of local bands that had actually played in the store and offered to play some for me to “check out”.  Serious.

He even offered to make me a coffee – I accepted.

C’mon, that’s fucking awesome.

Anyway, this album – on pretty purple vinyl no less – was the first album he put on and from the get-go (‘Animal Ghost‘) I knew this was the album I was going home with.

Pop Pistol (click HERE for their website – WARNING:  may induce seizures) are a San Antonio based three-piece who were voted 2012 Best Indie Rock Band by readers of the San Antonio Current.  They describe their music as “original rock layered with atmospheric samples”.  Okay, I can get behind that.  Their website goes on to say “Often intense, but not aggressive, the music is sonically expansive with an electronic edge. Songs are focused on groove, tension, & release”.

Again, I can dig that shit.

The album was released in 2012, and utilizes rock instruments and electronic elements to create a music that soars over heavy beats and thick soul bass in a metaphysical headspace.  ‘Xes Xes‘  (whatever the heck that means) might just be the best example of this.  This is “Space Rock” at it’s finest. 

Who knew the San Antonians had it in them?

Here’s another blurb I found on the back of the album itself:

“This album was recorded in the year 2012 in San Antonio TX by Pop Pistol in a small space turned into a place of magic. The project is still emerging and is tied into the frequency of now more deeply than ever. We see the bright side of Mercury the cube of Saturn the newest information constantly.  The politics constantly spewing in polar defenses. Many Mini Civil wars. Media controlled culture stagnation. Media enabled culture flourishes. mysticism meiosis, musical healing posies. The sound of inside Animals Escaping. Three brothers making music that’s alive.”

Umm, okay.  Smoke much?

But, whatever, one thing is for certain:  this album is bloody awesome.

Second thing for certain:  I will definitely be back to ‘Imagine Books and Records‘ on my next trip to the Lone Star State, partly see my new buddy Ezra and partly because I can’t wait to see what other local delicacies he has to add to my collection.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

