Fartlek Run (10.42k)

After this past Thursday’s botched fartlek workout (click HERE), I felt like I really needed to do something special with my run today in order to boost my confidence.  With that in mind, I headed out a bit earlier than usual in a reasonable time after breakfast and with an added yogurt cup in me for good measure; taking from Thursday’s lesson.  My music this morning to help make that happen was the ‘Outta Control‘  album by local Canadiana funk darlings LMT Connection.

r-6803424-1458162413-2747-jpeg

Yeah, that’s my autographed copy of the album cover.

This album dates back to 1999 when I was a regular fixture of the downtown St. Catharines scene.  I was working at the Merchant Ale House as a bartender at the time and frequenting just every other bar as a patron in my off hours.  Needless to say, I got around and saw a lot of music and LMT Connection were a staple of this thriving music scene at the same time.

While actually recorded live at a club in Niagara Falls, this funky set of music was pretty much their regular routine for years at other downtown St. Catharines bars and clubs like the Olive Bar, the Lions Tavern and The Mansion House.  It features primarily covers of James Brown, George Clinton and Funkadelic, the Temptations, and Santana.  Of course, there are few LMT originals thrown in for good measure but, honestly, they’re primarily just vehicles for the band members to show off their solo chops to audience by playing the ‘Funky Spoons‘  and ‘Mudd’s Drums and Bottles‘.

But all that aside, let’s get to the important part – the run.

What you might notice right off the bat is that while I’ve given myself credit here for 10.42k, my Garmin activity only records 8.42k.  That’s because I forgot to actually start it a little after 10 minutes into my initial warm up (approximately 2k).  Oops.  Too bad too, seeing as out I was running pretty smoothly and effortlessly at around 5:30min/km.  So, based on what was actually recorded my 5 x (2 minutes HARD/2 minute easy) began at the 5 minute mark…and, they felt pretty damn good.  I mean, they were challenging, but I wasn’t dying either like I was the last time I completed this workout in San Antonio (click HERE).  In fact, my pace improved by 21 seconds/km.  Now I’m not sure if that’s because I was better fueled this time around and not loaded up on natcho’s and cheeseburgers, or because my cardio has improved, or what.  But looking at the data now, the second part of my 2 minute intervals today were still at a sub-4:30min/km pace so, hey, maybe I am improving a little?

Sure, let’s go with that.

Success!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

