Long Run (15k)

Yesterday was our annual Christmas Open House, meaning lots of good food and good drink was had by family and friends alike – including yours truly.  Needless to say I’d rather plop my ass on the couch for the afternoon and play it easy but I did that last Sunday so I’m making myself go out and get in a few kilometers before I actually do that.

Secondly, it’s finally all winter and shit out so this is my first official “Winter Run”…more reason to bunk it off altogether and stay home with Tina the Cat but, alas, I am not.  Instead, I’m bundling up and forcing myself out for 15k or bust with some Dad RockJeff Tweedy‘s ‘Sunken Treasure: Live In the Pacific Northwest‘.

sunken_treasure_jeff_tweedy_live_in_the_pacific_northwest

This is actually recording originally available as a DVD documentary (October, 2006) featuring live performances by Tweedy during his solo acoustic Pacific Northwest tour that same year over fives nights in Seattle, Portland, Eugene, Arcata, and San Fransisco…but I guess the title kind of gave that away, eh?

The “album” touches on most of Tweedy’s history, from Uncle Tupelo (‘Black Eye”’) to the ‘Mermaid Avenue‘  project with Billy Bragg (‘Airline To Heaven‘”), Loose Fur (‘Laminated Cat‘) and. of course, a wide sample of Wilco‘’s extensive catalogue, all the while treating each song like a piece of a grander picture that he is continually painting.  But what the film-slash-album reveals most remarkably is Tweedy’s tenuous relationship with his audience, most of whom respond to him as if he were a drinking buddy…even when he scolds you for talking while he plays.  At times this is at odds with the music, but Tweedy manages it well, evoking an easy charm that emphasizes the innocence at the core of his writing, something that has increasingly been overshadowed in Wilco.  Whereas the ‘I Am Trying To Break Your Heart‘  documentary (also in my collection) showed Tweedy as a reluctant anti-hero, ‘Sunken Treasure: Live‘  shows his artistry in its purest form and is a must for anyone who doubts his songwriting and performing greatness.

The run itself was okay.

At times it felt somewhat easy, and I could push it a little and other times I’d remind myself that this wasn’t supposed to be about suffering today so much as it was about just getting the distance in.  Whatever it was, whenever it was, it was good enough for an average pace of 5:41min/km  which is pretty good in comparison to my last few “long” weekend runs.  Hopefully that means things are on then up and up.

Fingers (and toes) crossed.

But, hey, at least things were “pretty”.

So here we go, Winter Running…it’s on.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

