Friday In Corporate Hell (Part 2)

Next up on my Corporate Hell vinyl playlist this morning is another album I grabbed on the cheap while in Texas, the ‘Wild Tales‘ album by Graham Nash.

img_1240

And, yes, I’m indulging in my growing collection of Dad Rock at this point as well.

I read the ‘Wild Tales: A Rock & Roll Life‘ a few years back and loved it.  I then went on a Graham Nash and Hollies bender for a few weeks to boot.  so when I saw this album for – get this – $3.00, I was all like “Yeah, dude!”

Of course having one or two pints of New Belgium Brewing’s ‘Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough‘ (yes, you read that correctly) pints in me as well certainly helped in that decision making process.

Released on Atlantic Records in 1974, this was Nash’s 2nd solo album.  It peaked at #34 on the Billboard 200. Nash blamed its failure to chart higher in the United States on a supposed lack of support and promotion from Atlantic Records. As a result, Nash left the label and signed a four-album contract with ABC Records as a duo with his CSNY partner David Crosby.

Contrary to later reports, the darker tone of this album was not inspired by the murder of Nash’s then-girlfriend, Amy Gossage, by her brother; that tragedy happened more than a year after the release of this album. Rather, Nash was in a somber mood in the wake of the failures of his relationships with Joni Mitchell and Rita Coolidge, and the unwillingness at the time of the other members of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young to reunite for a new album.

For this album, Nash gathered a core aggregate of musicians, many of whom were loosely connected to the CSNY family. These include: Johnny Barbata (drums), Tim Drummond (bass), David Lindley (guitar) –  who absolutely rips on ‘Grave Concern‘ by the way – Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar/dobro), and, of course David Crosby (vocals).  Also making guest shots were Dave Mason (12-string guitar), Joe Yankee (aka Neil Young) (acoustic piano), and Joni Mitchell (vocals).  Together, they animate Nash’s slice-of-life compositions. Musically, Nash retains much of the whimsy that drew folks to his earlier songs. Likewise, the subject matter ranges from political (‘Oh Camil‘  and ‘Prison Song‘) to the emotionally naked ‘Another Sleep Song‘  and ‘I Miss You‘.  Nash would bring several of these tunes back to the CSNY fold for their 1974 tour – including the up-tempo rocking title track, as well as the folkie ‘Prison Song‘.

It would be another seven years after ‘Wild Tales‘  before Nash would issue his next solo album, ‘Earth & Sky‘ – which, consequently, fared about as well as this album.

No matter though, I’m still diggin’ it.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

