Interval Spin (Hills)

Seeing as how I had an “easy run” this afternoon, I’m going to try and giv’ er a little bit this evening on the bike by doing a few hill intervals [3 x (1 minute HARD/1 minute easy) w/ 5 minutes tempo].  We’re going to see how it goes anyway, so I have some “tough guy” tunes queued up with the Led ZeppelinII‘ album.

Recorded quickly during the bands first American tour (released in 1969), this album is infamous for being the architect blueprint for all the heavy metal bands that followed it.

Since the group could only enter the studio for brief amounts of time, most of the songs that compose ‘II‘ are reworked blues and rock & roll standards that the band was performing on-stage at the time.  Not only did the short amount of time result in a lack of original material, it made the sound more direct.  Jimmy Page still provided layers of guitar overdubs, but the overall sound of the album is heavy and hard, brutal and direct. ‘Whole Lotta Love‘, ‘The Lemon Song‘, and ‘Bring It on Home‘  are all based on classic blues songs – only, the riffs are simpler and louder and each song has an extended section for instrumental solos.  Of the remaining six songs, two sport light acoustic touches (‘Thank You‘, and ‘Ramble On‘), but the other four are straight-ahead heavy rock that follows the formula of the revamped blues songs. While this album doesn’t have the eclecticism of the group’s debut, it’s arguably more influential (it’s certainly motivational through these stupid-hard hill intervals, anyway).  After all, nearly every one of the hundreds of Zeppelin imitators used this record, with its lack of dynamics and its pummeling riffs, as a blueprint.

While my run legs seem to be good order this afternoon, my spin legs – not so much.  I completed the intervals for a full 60 minutes of spinning but I’m pretty such I was leaking full cheeseburgers out my pours as I was doing it.  Which is good I guess.  But I realize that I’m going to have to ease back into the spinning thing more gradually…tough guy tunes or not.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Spin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

