Monday Afternoon Vinyl

Today officially begins the “journey back”.  Back from high carbs, stupid-sized protein platters, craft beer with every dinner and the general lethargy that comes with trying to maintain a well-disciplined training schedule while traveling on business for two weeks (shit ain’t easy!) at a go.  That all started today with a 2500m  drill swim to make sure I could still, well, swim I guess.  And this evening I will likely spin or do some circuit training prior to leading my own Masters spin class.

However, this afternoon I’m curling up on the couch with my new book ‘Barbarian Days:  A Surfing Life‘  by William Finnegan, a healthy lunch (well, “healthy-ish” as there’s currently not a lot in the refrigerator at the moment) and one of the records I brought home from Texas, the ‘Thirteen’  album by my secret sweetheart, Emmylou Harris.

img_1224

It was kinda fate that brought me together with this album.

Last Tuesday evening while enjoying a nice “Sunday Morning” burger at Sam’s Burger Joint (click HERE), this is what (who) was hovered overhead on the ceiling:

15235872_10154588886265977_997241313438795651_o

True story.

And a finer dining experience was never had, let me tell you!

So when I wandered into a small used book shop the next evening and browsed through their scant collect of used records and came across this record I knew it was meant to be.

Oh, and for only $4.00…yeah, I’ll take that shit.

Thanks.

Released in 1986, this album actually takes its title from the number of solo efforts Harris had recorded to date; her numbering didn’t take into account hits collections or her true debut, ‘Gliding Bird‘, an album she later disowned.

The album included an unusually high number of cover versions of songs that had been hits for others, including Merle Haggard‘s ‘Today I Started Loving You Again‘, Junior Parker’s ‘Mystery Train‘, Jack Clement’s ‘Just Someone I Used to Know‘ (a 1969 duet hit for Dolly Parton and Porter Wagoner (here, Harris is teamed with the country artist John Anderson), Doc Watson‘s ‘Your Long Journey‘ (a duet with his wife Rosalie), ‘ Bruce Springsteen‘s ‘My Father’s House‘  and Rodney Crowell’s ‘I Had My Heart Set on You‘.

For unexplained reasons, the album was taken out of print a few years after its initial release, making it one of the most sought-after albums in Harris’ catalogue by fans, with used copies commanding unusually high prices on eBay and other used records sites.  So, yeah, $4.00?

SCORE.

So this afternoon, before I return to the regular rat race that is my normal business day, I’m indulging in a little guilty pleasure twing twang while Kelly is out grabbing groceries and HRH  is still at school.

Bliss.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

