Flight UA5208 from Chicago to Buffalo

I’m on my last leg home.  One more hour and I’ll land in Buffalo and then it’s only a 25 minute drive home to my girls, my cats and my EZ-Boy for the remainder of the weekend.  Can you tell I’m a bit excited?  I’m also excited for my bed, clean laundry, my own bathroom, vegetables and the gigantic turd that is inevitably going to follow eating them.

Time for one last album then, the ‘Cluck Old Hen‘  album by Ricky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby.

skaggshornsby_coh_cover_final_300dpi_0

This album is actually a live recording of performances by bluegrass/country maestro Ricky Skaggs (with his band Kentucky Thunder) touring with pianist/singer-songwriter Bruce Hornsby.  I know, I know…since when does bluegrass feature a piano?  Well, it just works.  I don’t know why nor can I explain it, but it just does.

Based on this album, it is certain apparent that the two unlikely virtuosos enjoyed this collaboration immensely as they toured together during the autumn of 2013. The performance features interesting takes on old and new bluegrass standards as well and unique versions of Hornsby’s own ‘The Way It Is‘  and the 13-minute plus ‘White-Wheeled Limousine‘  which is  absolutely the highlight of the album in my opinion. 

It’s truly an amazing listen.

But before I land, I’d like to leave you with my take on the past two weeks of living as an “honorary Texan”.

Texas Fun Fact #1:  Everything here is already “super sized”. If you are in fact prompted to ” super size” something you are in fact “stupid sizing” your order. Let’s just call it what it is.

Texas Fun Fact #2:  Texas cuisine is %20 real food and %80 toxic waste that will come back to haunt you an hour later.

Texas Fun Fact #3:  The bigger vehicle you drive the bigger asshole you are proportionately in traffic when it comes to merging, signaling, changing lanes etc. Unless it rains in which case the playing field is equalized when everyone suddenly turns in Miss Daisy.

Texas Fun Fact #4:  Ten days seems to the time frame in which case you will feel the urge to refer to everyone as “y’all”.

Texas Fun Fact #5:   If you do feel so inclined to stand on a street corner and sing aloud “the stars at night are big and bright…”  you will likely just be shot. Pee Wee Herman lied to us (click HERE).

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

