Long Run (12.3k)

It’s my day off here in San Antonio and I’ve gone through the hotel routine of sleeping in plate, waiting in line at the hotel breakfast bar for s stack of automated pancakes, then grabbing a Starbucks before heading back up to my room to putter around until I poop and, hence, it’s safe to go and run.  Don’t laugh, it’s an important part of the process as any runner will tell you.

The only goal I have for today’s run around Woodlawn Lake is to keep it slow and easy.  Seeing as what a disaster last weeks long run turned out to be (click HERE for a reminder), I’m being very conscientious and playing it by ear today as I’m learning that travel and maintaining a rigorous workout schedule is not easy business.  Ideally, the run should be around 90 minutes long but I’m just going to see how it develops as it unfolds.  To help keep things moving along, I have the ‘Doc & Dawg‘  album to listen to featuring Doc Watson and David Grisman.

There is really nothing about this album that is “Texas” per se.  Neither hails from Texas, nor is there any Texas-theme to any of the songs.  I do, however, think that there is a certain “Lonestar-ness” to these songs that makes the album as a whole a passable listen today on par with any of the other more true Texas-inspired albums on my iPod.

Deal with it.

Anyway, Watson and Grisman first met in the early 1960’s when Watson was playing at Gerde’s Folk City in New York.  Grisman, only 17 years old, was invited on stage by Watson to join him on mandolin for a rendition of ‘In the Pines‘.

Mostly recorded at Grisman’s home over a period of years, the recordings are informal and pulled from numerous recording sessions spanning 30 years and released on Grisman’s Acoustic Disc label.

In the liner notes, Grisman described the sessions:

“These tapes document some wonderful ‘after-dinner’ sessions at my home during several of Doc’s visits. Tunes were selected spontaneously and more often than not, played only once. We’re pleased to share some of these moments.”

The tracks are mainly traditional country and bluegrass tunes played lovingly and often with great restraint. On songs like the George Gershwin classic ‘Summertime‘, Grisman in particular makes every note count. Watson’s voice is still strong and soulful.  But, it is the instrumental duets that really shine, especially the two Bill Monroe tunes ‘Bluegrass Stomp‘  and ‘Kentucky Waltz‘  and the title track, ‘Doc and Dawg‘.  What it was, let it be known there was a lot of pleasant diddly-diddly and twing-twang going on for the first 50 minutes or so before I skipped over to another playlist to finish out the run.

I managed my goal of 60 minutes and I decided to throw one more lap in there (12.3k in t0tal) just for good measure, thinking it would set me up for next weekend’s second attempt at 90 minutes (or approx. 15k) that I failed at last weekend.  So I am happy I accomplished that goal.

Needless to say that there was no pace records here today despite what Strava tells me (avg. pace 5:54min/km).  I only won this segment because I’ve failed at it so often while running in the stupid degree conditions on my past visits.  Today was cool and relatively conducive for easy running.  That’s not to say it was “easy” though, as I still felt lethargic and slow.  Likely due in part to the high amount of unhealthy carbs I’m shoveling into my pie hole these days (hey, I’m in Texas – where everything is “bigger” as they say) as well as the fact I’m easily carrying around an extra 10lbs. that I’d like to shed before I really  start my serious long progression runs come the New Year.

Whatever it was and however I want to view it, I’m just happy I got out and got ‘er done.  In fact, this was the longest I’ve ever run at Woodlawn Lake (albeit, far from my quickest – click HERE).  So that’s a bit of an accomplishment as well I suppose.  And now I’m going to be lazy for the rest of the afternoon and lounge around my hotel room in the buff quaffing down the Greek yogurt I stole from the breakfast bar this morning because, well, because what else is there to do exactly?

#getnekkidandeatyogurt

It’s a thing now.

Successes:  PR for the Strava ‘Woodlawn 3 laps – 4 Mile run‘ segment (37:07)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

