Tempo Run (5.79k)

I’ve successfully completed two days of training here in San Antonio but, before I celebrate I have one more task at hand, this 40 minute (15 minutes easy, 10 minutes moderate, 5 minutes HARD) progression tempo run (5.79k).

Unfortunately, it gets dark here early as well so where I usually do all my runs at Woodlawn Lake, I’m opting for not getting being caught out in an area I don’t really know after hours and – boring as it is – I’m sucking it up and doing it here at the hotel instead.  To make this painful 50 minutes of running on the circa-1983 treadmill while staring at an ugly chipped and peeling beige wall somewhat bearable, I’m listening to the ‘El Loco‘  album by one of my Texas trip staples, ZZ Top.

Released in 1981, ‘El Loco‘ follows through on the streamlined, jet-engine boogie rock of ‘Degüello‘, but kicking all the ingredients up a notch.  That means that the grooves are getting a little slicker, while the jokes are getting a little sillier, a little raunchier. The double entendres on ‘Tube Snake Boogie‘  and ‘Pearl Necklace‘  (yes, they both mean exactly what you think they mean) are barely disguised, while much of the record plays as flat-out goofy party rock.  Not necessarily a bad thing, but much of it is a little too obvious to be totally winning. Still, the most telling thing about this album may be the rhythm of ‘Pearl Necklace‘  its biggest single and best song, which clearly points the way to the new wave blues-rock of ‘Eliminator‘.

So the real challenge this evening was not actually the boredom of having only this to look at for 40 minutes:

img_1196

…but the fact that there was no air movement in this little broom closet whatsoever.  I mean, not even a little bit.

It was absolutely suffocating.  Within the first 10 minutes alone I was dripping sweat as if it was my job.  At one point, a girl walked in to perhaps used one of the other cardio machines, likely caught one sniff of the rankness I was emanating into the room, and turned on her heel and split in an instant. Can’t says I don’t blame her really.

Sorry, baby.

Awesome doesn’t always smell pretty.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Tempo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

