Core

Since I’m here, I might as well slip in a quick core workout.  And I have the perfect 20 minute “mini-album” on my iPod currently to motivate that workout, the self-titled EP by the Pixies.

purple_tape_2002

This 2002 EP release is made up of (mostly) previously unissued material from Pixies’ original 17-track demo tape (known to Pixies aficionados as “The Purple Tape”), recorded at Fort Apache Studios in March 1987 by Gary Smith. Eight of the tracks from sessions were released in 1987 as the band’s debut, ‘Come On Pilgrim‘  and the remaining nine were sourced for this release by SpinART Records in the U.S. and Sonic Unyon records in Canada.

Any Pixies fan will likely have heard many of the tracks here as several of the tracks on the tape appeared in later albums (albeit rerecorded), such as ‘I’m Amazed‘, ‘Broken Face‘, and ‘Break My Body‘  on ‘Surfer Rosa’, ‘Here Comes Your Man’  on ‘Doolittle, a live version of ‘In Heaven‘  on the single for ‘Gigantic‘, ‘Down to the Well’ on ‘Bossanova, ‘Build High‘ on the single for ‘Planet of Sound‘, and a revised ‘Subbacultcha’  on ‘Trompe Le Monde. A studio recording of the cover of ‘In Heaven (Lady in the Radiator Song)‘, from the surrealist David Lynch film ‘Eraserhead’, is also featured on the demo.

It’s quick and it’s dirty…just like this core workout.  Oh, and the mat I used after this particular 200 lbs. hot and sweaty Ironman-wannabe mess was finished.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

