Tuesday Night Vinyl

I’m absolutely knackered.  It’s been a long day of hard running, train-the-trainer sessions and then a 3000m strength swim.  I’ve since cuddled the kid before bed, checked my work email one last time and emptied out the litter boxes and now, for whatever stupid reason, I still can’t sleep.  Dammit!  I should be exhausted.  Instead, I’m curling up on the downstairs couch with my new book ‘The All Red Route:  Halifax to Vancouver in a 1912 REO‘ (John Nicol) and the new mini-album by the Chris Robinson Brotherhood, ‘If You Lived Here, You Would Be Home By Now‘.

home-by-now-cover

Released only two weeks ago (November 4th), this record was intended as a companion piece for the previous ‘Any Way You Love…‘ (oops, I’ll have to hunt that out now too), consisting of 5 more tracks recorded at the same sessions.

What I like about the CRB, is the successful way they combine the sounds of 70’s rock with soul into a sound that makes you feel good and, believe me, if this album could be bottled up and sold as a certified mood booster…there would definitely be less grumpy people in this world.

Maybe.

The album begins with ‘New Cannonball Rag‘, a song that will have you grooving immediately – especially when you hear the bass line and the organ. The organ lends a bit of a gospel sound. There are also some spacey, psychedelic sounds in this song. One thing is for sure; it’s hard to be in a bad mood when you hear this tune. ‘Shadow Cosmos‘  is a change of pace from the first song.  This has more of a roots-rock feel to it.  There is some guitar that definitely brings the Bakersfield sound to mind.  More generally it’s hard not to think of The Band when you hear this song – especially in the piano.  It is also reminiscent of The Band in that Chris Robinson takes his time telling a good story with the lyrics.  ‘From the North Garden‘  is another change from the rest of the album. This instrumental song has an Indian feel to it with a touch of psychedelia.  What really makes this song mesmerizing is the beat. You might want to close your eyes, sit back and enjoy with this one.

Being a Chris Robinson Brotherhood album, you might expect something longer. The fact that it’s only six songs and 30 minutes isn’t a disappointment at all. In those 30 minutes, the band will not only get you moving, but also will improve your mood. It’s tough to be anything but happy when you hear the soulful grooves throughout the album.

Having said that, this tired Ironman wannabe is going to bed…finally.

Hopefully.

Save

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

