Sunday Vinyl (Part 3)

The girls are all in bed and three tons of cat shit is out on the curb so I’m getting some bonus quiet time on the couch with Tina the Cat and one of my cycling heroes (click HERE), Jens Voigt ‘Shut Up, Legs!: My Wild Ride On and Off the Bike‘  book.  And, of course, there’s some vinyl for good measure, the ‘Distressed Gentlefolk‘  album by The Jazz Butcher Conspiracy.

r-1337698-1365002565-9042-jpeg

This was not one of my Record Fair finds today.  I mean, they were others but mostly I filled out some holes in my collection that I have otherwise posed about already in these pages.  Rather, this is an album I picked up a few weeks ago on the cheap from the Niagara Records store in downtown St. Catharines.

You might have heard of this band referred to as simply The Jazz Butcher, or if you travel in more fancy circles The Jazz Butcher And His Sikkorskis From Hell.  Whatever you know them by (and I’m betting you likely haven’t), all you really need to know is that the band is a British musical group founded by Pat Fish.

And, no, they’re more certainly not jazz.

The band was formed in Oxford in 1982 by Pat Fish, who had previously been a member of Wow Federation while at university in the city, with Max Eider.  The début album ‘In Bath of Bacon’  was released by Glass Records in 1983 and a second album ‘A Scandal in Bohemia’, also on Glass, featured guest appearances from David J and Kevin Haskins of Bauhaus.  That’s how I originally came to hear of them.

I bought this album on a total whim; a $2.00 whim at that.

This album released in 1986 and kind of sounds like The Smiths if they ate more sausage and drank heavily. Some may also be reminded of Robyn Hitchcock or Lloyd Cole.  It’s not an album full of instant classics, that’s for sure.  The twangy “easy-lazy-Sunday-afternoon” opening guitar riff of ‘Falling in Love‘  is kinda cool as is the Jazz tinged ‘New World‘.  ‘Angels‘ is also kind of neat.  One day (like, tomorrow maybe) I’ll likely play ‘Domestic Animal‘  for HRH  just to watch her squirm and God only fucking knows what’s going on in ‘Buffalo Shame‘.  Really?  Let’s just say then that the album is definitely different.  Also keep in mind that even the band themselves hated it so I wouldn’t in all good consciousness recommend you run out and buy it immediately.

But, hey, for $2.00…yeah, why not?

And thus concludes this evening’s (as well as this weekend’s) vinyl pleasures.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

