Sunday Vinyl (Part 2)

Among my own purchases at today’s Record Fair in St. Catharines was the ‘Words in Earnest‘  album by the Goose Creek Symphony.

img_1190

I hear you already?  Who in the Sam Hell is the Goose Creek Symphony?

From Wikipedia:

Goose Creek Symphony is an American rock band with roots in Arizona and Kentucky. They were formed in 1968 in Phoenix, Arizona as an outlet for the songs of Charlie Gearheart, aka Ritchie Hart.  The band recorded their first album at Audio Recorders in 1968-69 and were subsequently signed to Capitol Records in 1970.  They continued recording until 1976, then reformed in 1990. The band is considered one of the tightest, musically, of its genre and has continued touring to popular acclaim.

The band appeared on ‘The Ed Sullivan Show’  and shared the stage with Jimi Hendrix and The Allman Brothers Band among others at the 1970 Atlanta Pop Festival. They have also been inducted into “The Arizona Music and Entertainment Hall of Fame” class of 2011.

If there’s any chance you may have heard of these guys, it might be their version of Janis Joplin‘s ‘Mercedez Benz‘ which is okay, but there are other tunes on the album are really killer.  The title track for example is gorgeous and the 2nd Side’s opener ‘Guitar’s Pickin’ Fiddles Playin‘  absolutely smokes…I just wish they took the jam at the end a little further.

The whole album is full of slightly tongue-in-cheek stories about fishin’ holes and the good life livin’ in the country, each warmly backed by band member Fred Wise’s loose fiddle or the occasional Dixieland/Salvation Army brass band.  Similar to a lot of the Grateful Dead‘s more countrified stuff, these down-home rockers make for great summertime porch music. Oh, and it just also happened to be released the year I was born (1972) which also adds to it’s cool factor.

It’s perfect for my collection.  Especially when winding down a bust weekend with an enormous bowl consisting of a hot loaded jacket potato in my lap (not to mention a rather expectant looking Tina the Cat), a pint of the new ‘Senesence‘  spiced ale from Brimstone Brewing Co. in my hand and a copy of Jens Voigt’s ‘Shut Up, Legs!: My Wild Ride On and Off the Bike‘ in front of my nose.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

