Yoga Stretch

Okay, so I might have overdone it a wee bit with the suffering on this afternoon’s fartlek run as my quads are definitely crying out now.  So, I’m belaying any plans to go to the gym or get out on the bike this evening and staying in and indulging my Jazz Boner on my yoga mat (once I’ve cleared away all the cat toys mind you) instead with the ‘Live‘  album by Stephane Grappelli and David Grisman.

mi0000548709

The album was recorded live on September 20th, 1979 at Berklee Center, Boston (except for ‘Satin Doll‘, which was recorded on September 7th, 1979 at the Great American Music Hall, San Francisco) and released in 1981 on Warner Bros. Records.

One of the most exciting of the many Stephane Grappelli (who was in his 60’s by this point) recordings, this live session teams the veteran violinist with mandolist David Grisman’s band, an ensemble that (in addition to its leader) boasts hot solos from Mike Marshall on violin, guitarist Mark O’Connor (who switches to violin to battle Grappelli on a memorable ‘Tiger Rag‘), and bassist Rob Wasserman.  The first two songs (‘Shine‘  and ‘Pent-Up House‘) are taken at breakneck tempos and then, after the group tries to cool off on ‘Misty‘, they really burn on ‘Sweet Georgia Brown‘  and ‘Tiger Rag‘.

Essentially, it’s amazing music with more than its share of great solos; an experience, not simply a listen.

Perfect yoga music.

In other words, it’s the total cat’s pajamas baby.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

