Saturday Night Vinyl

The garage was swept, a few kilometers were pedaled, a few weights were hefted, a few wobbly pops consumed, a few burgers grilled and now it’s time to relax with some vinyl before me and the missus relax in front of the boob tube for the evening.  And, tonight, that soothing vinyl “chillski” comes in the form of the ‘Prelude‘  album by Deodato.

71yzqyjilhl-_sl1500_

I took a bit of a flier with this album last weekend at the Hamilton, Ontario Record Fair.  I admit.

Sometimes…that’s record collecting.

And, at just $5.00, I could afford to take that risk.

‘Prelude’  is the 8th studio album by Brazilian keyboardist Eumir Deodato, released in 1973.  With the signature track ‘Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001)‘  (an arrangement of the theme from ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ and the real reason why I bought the album in the first place), ‘Prelude’  would be the biggest hit Deodato and CTI Records ever had.

The album features guitarist John Tropea on three tracks, bassists Ron Carter (of Miles Davis fame) and Stanley Clarke, and Billy Cobham on drums.  The funk-influenced version of the ‘Introduction‘  from Richard Strauss’s ‘Also sprach Zarathustra’, won the 1974 Grammy Award for Best Pop Instrumental Performance.and went to #2 in the pop charts in the US, #3 in Canada, and #7 in the UK.

Not bad for a modern jazz album at that time.

HRH  thinks it sounds like “music you hear in hotels and elevators”.  Kelly called it “TV commercial”  music.

Well, screw them.  What do they know?

Although, really, the only reason I even know of Deodato is because ‘Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001)‘  also happens to be one of the popular Phish covers during their live performances.

Truth.

But it was always awesome then, so I took the flier that it would be awesome now and, thankfully, it was.

Oh, and how did I ever know that this was a cover of Deodato in the first place, well, that’s largely thanks to Sara B who, for whatever reason, already knew that. So forever, I will remember this track for driving around New York City.

But what about the rest of the album you ask?

Well, honestly…meh.

But what can you do?  It’s a bit of Bob James, a bit Herbie Hancock and a whole lot of….okay.  It’s not total Shit List material but, hey, for $5.00, it’s still certainly a welcome addition to the collection. Besides the main ‘Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001)‘ attraction, ‘September 13‘  is also pretty bitchin’.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

