Fartlek Run (9.31k)

It’s “Fartlek Friday” once again and thank Christ it’s not raining.  It seems like Mother Nature has finally thrown me a bone.  Today’s plan calls for 5 x 4 minute intervals with 1 minute of rest.  In other words, suck x 5 plus a warm up and cool down over 9.31k worth of pavement up and down Thunder Bay Rd.

Yay.

My sound track for my run this afternoon is the last of my discography by these Nova Scotia alt-rockers, the ‘Untitled‘  album by Wintersleep.

untitled-4f222e755876a

This album is the 2nd album released by the band – without a title no less – in 2005.  Not to be confused of course with the debut self-titled album released two years previous in 2003 (click HERE).  I guess they spaced out when it came to actually naming the album, or maybe they thought that ‘Untitled‘ sounded hip an unpretentious….

Who knows.

What I do know (or so I learned, anyway) is that the cover is Simply the Tits and it’s an absolutely gorgeous album with a high concentration of musical gems.  The album kind of sounds like it may be the illicit progeny of Radiohead‘s ‘OK Computer‘  (click HERE) and the Smiths ‘The Queen is Dead‘  with maybe a little sprinkling of Cold Play thrown in for good measure.

Call me crazy.

The album plays well for an intense Autumn run:  a torrent of harder, pounding tunes like ‘Lipstick‘   and ‘Jaws of Life‘  before gradually melting into softer, whisper-sung songs filled out by pseudo-choral sections.  The “da da da da da da”  bit on ‘Migration‘, for instance, is the perfect soundtrack for staring down the last interval before starting my cool down jog back home.  The balls-to-the-wall rocker ‘Danse Macabre‘  is what actually got me through that final interval though.  Special mention however has to go to ‘Nerves Normal, Breathe Normal‘ (a rather apt song title for a running tune, I must say, an inspired 7 minute plus slow burner that was the prelude leading up to the first interval – which I rocked, I might add.  I’m definitely keeping this song around for future spin playlists.

Today’s run went fairly good.  On top of this being, quite possibly among my last “shorts weather” runs,  ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning felt great and I managed to accomplish all five 4 minute fast intervals, although I definitely thought about cutting them short by the end of the 3rd.  Going out Thunder Bay for the first two intervals were easy enough with the wind at my back, but the last three coming home sure sucked; hence my pace being slightly off the norm.

Having said that, I still clocked in a near 900m  during my final 5th minute interval (that’s around a 4:00min/km  pace), so that has to count as some success, no?

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

