Hump Day Vinyl

The work day is done, the potatoes are on the stove prepping for a late dinner and I’m settling down in my EZ-Boy with ‘The Death of Marco Pantani‘ (Matt Rendell) prior to hitting the pool for a wee pre-dinner swim.  My listening pleasure is a purchase from this past weekend’s Record Fair in Hamilton, the ‘Making Movies‘  album by Dire Straits.

1200px-sleeve_of_making_movies-svg

So I’m on a bit of a Dire Straits kick lately.

Sue me.

‘Making Movies’  is the often forgotten 3rd studio album by the band released on October 17th, 1980 by Vertigo Records internationally and by Warner Bros. Records in the United States. The album reached #1 on album charts in Italy and Norway, #19 in the United States and #4 in the United Kingdom.

Regardless if this is the album you think of or not by the band and, true, there is no hip MTV chart topper on the album, it is every bit a masterpiece as the others.

I may not exactly have known that back in 1980 – but certainly I know it now.

Without second guitarist David Knopfler, the ‘Straits began to move away from its roots rock origins into a jazzier variation of country-rock and singer/songwriter folk-rock. Naturally, this means that brother Mark’s ambitions as a songwriter are growing, as the storytelling pretensions of ‘Making Movies‘  indicate.  Fortunately, his skills are increasing, as the heart-breakingly lovely ‘Romeo and Juliet‘ (which reached #8 on the UK Singles Chart), the dreamy ‘Tunnel of Love‘, and ‘Skateaway‘  indicate.  The album is helped along by a new wave-tinged pop production, which actually helps Knopfler’s jazzy inclinations take hold.

Perfect early evening music for making mashed ‘taters.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

